Whittemore Library: Civic Engagement: Volunteering

Volunteer!

Volunteerism is the act of contributing free labor to conduct community service or support a nonprofit organization. It is the principle of donating time and energy towards a greater cause. Volunteers help change the lives of those in their community as a social responsibility rather than receiving a financial reward.

Hay, K. (2023, March 29). What Is Volunteerism? A Guide to the History & Benefits. Bloomerang. https://bloomerang.co/blog/what-is-volunteerism-a-guide-to-the-history-benefits/

There are many ways to volunteer; many of you may have volunteered in your communities already, before coming to FSU Don't stop now! And if you haven't yet - consider it - you'd be surprised at how you can make a difference.

Volunteer-Matching Organizations

Vounteer Match
Organization providing services to various organizations involved in the non-profit sector. Offers those wishing to find volunteer opportunities free listings of local (it automatically notes the geographic location of your device's IP range) and virtual volunteer opportunities. Quite handy.
Volunteer Your Skills Virtually by Catchafire
"Volunteering in your local community is important, and we always encourage community service! That said, there are nonprofits all over the US and beyond that are great places to volunteer and could use your volunteer hours. By volunteering virtually, you can support nonprofits in areas that have limited access to talent. Better yet, Catchafire volunteer projects also allow you to volunteer from home, on your schedule, making your work/life/volunteer balance easier."

Volunteer/Service Opportunities at FSU

Civic Engagement and Service Learning Center
Includes: FSU Student Civic Engagement, FSU Civic Engagement Mini-Grant, and Service and Civic Engagement
Center for Inclusive Excellence
Includes Campus Affinity Groups and Initiatives

Local Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities by CIty of Framingham
"Human connections help us thrive. Volunteering gives you purpose and helps those in need. It’s a win/win! Being a volunteer is a very rewarding experience."
Library Volunteer Options by Framingham Public Library
"As a service to our community, the gift of your time and abilities is greatly appreciated. Volunteers may serve in many ways."
Volunteer by Metrowest Humane Society in Ashland
"Be a part of a caring team! The success of our shelter is based on the contributions of our wonderful volunteers."

State-wide Volunteer Opportunities

Massachusetts Service Alliance
"We expand volunteerism and service to make Massachusetts a better place to live."
Volunteers in the Parks
"Volunteers play an essential role in keeping DCR parks clean, maintained, and accessible for everyone to enjoy. DCR volunteers come from all backgrounds and walks of life, and no matter your motivation, we are grateful for your service and appreciate your time."
How to Volunteer Near You by Habitat for Humanity
"There are many ways to get involved with Habitat for Humanity near you.

"Habitat has volunteer, homeownership and ReStore donation and shopping opportunities in your local area."

Volunteer Opportunities with National Organizations

Virtual Service Pilot by Peace Corps
"The Peace Corps Virtual Service Pilot (VSP) is a virtual service opportunity whereby Virtual Service Pilot Participants (VSPPs), as private citizens and if they so choose, are able to donate time and voluntary services to the agency to engage virtually and contribute to the requests of interested Host Country Partners for support. The multi-phase pilot began in October 2020 and is currently being tested in a number of Peace Corps host countries."
Become a Volunteer by American Red Cross
"Your time and talent can make a real difference in people's lives. Sign Up for Our Most-Needed Positions."

Online Volunteering Opportunities

Transcription Projects

What's on the Menu? Help The New York Public Library improve their unique collection of historic restaurant menus.

DIY History at the University of Iowa Transcription projects on a range of topics.
Distributed Proofreaders Help turn books into e-books by proofreading digitized pages.
Papers of the War Department George Mason University seeks volunteers to transcribe papers from the War Department, which span a number of years and conflicts.
Dear Professor Einstein A project from Oregon State University -- volunteers can transcribe letters relating to atomic science and American history.
Transcribe: Royal British Columbia Museum Transcribe various collections from the Royal British Columbia museum, including diaries, government papers, and more.
Smithsonian Digital Volunteers Transcribe collections from the Smithsonian museums. Select from a wide variety of topics.
Citizen Archivist at the National Archives Help transcribe documents from American history with the National Archives' online transcription portal. Select from thousands of documents to transcribe.
Family Search Indexing Help index documents to identify personal records for genealogists

Run Simulations on Your Computer Projects

CERN: Large Hadron Collider at Home Volunteer computer for the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). "Volunteer computing with us allows you to get involved with LHC physics without actually having to be a physicist. Of course, we can explain the really deep physics to you... or if you prefer to keep it light and just enjoy the fact you can contribute and may even be cited in a paper for your help... we'd love you to join us with whatever you want contribute!"

Help Researchers Identify and Expose Human Rights Violations Projects

Amnesty Decoders Use your computer or phone to help Amnesty International researchers sift through pictures, information and documents.

Translation Projects

Translators Without Borders Provide language support to local and global organizations, helping bridge communication gaps between them and people living through a crisis – and beyond. Ccontribute significantly to making information accessible, inclusive, and useful to people who need that information in their language.

'Voluntourism' - Ethical, or Merely Performative?

Voluntourism is travel that combines vacation and volunteering. It includes short-term programs that typically focus more on the experience of participants, versus the actual impact they leave on the communities in need.

Both voluntourism and volunteering abroad are no strangers to criticism. Most criticism is aimed towards volunteers who simply travel abroad to fill gaps in their resume, enhance their college application, or feel that it is their duty to "give back" to lower-income communities.

It's important to reflect on why you want to volunteer abroad and how you can ensure your volunteer program truly benefits others.

-What’s the Difference Between Volunteering Abroad and Voluntourism? | Go Overseas. (2021, October 28). https://www.gooverseas.com/blog/what-is-the-difference-between-voluntourism-and-volunteering

What's the Difference Between Volunteering Abroad and Voluntourism? by Lindsay Denny
Publication Date: 2021

"What exactly falls under this umbrella of voluntourism, and how is it different from volunteering? Can voluntourism ever be deemed good or ethical? Let's discuss and compare the two."