Whittemore Library: CRIM 301: Criminological Theories: Home

"No people exists whose morality is not daily infringed upon. We must therefore call crime necessary and declare that it cannot be non-existent, that the fundamental conditions of social organization, as they are understood, logically imply it."

- Émile Durkheim (1858-1917)

Reference Best Bets

The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Jay S. Albanese (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780470670286
Publication Date: 2014
Essential Criminology by Mark M. Lanier; Stuart Henry; Desire' J. M. Anastasia
ISBN: 9780813348858
Publication Date: 2007

Find More Reference (Print & eBooks) in:

RamSearch - Offers 'Research Starters' for basic topics
Minuteman Catalog Search - Limit to FSU items only; print Reference books are in the Quiet Study Room
Credo Reference - More than 900 authoritative reference eBooks

Article Database Best Bets

RamSearch This link opens in a new window
RamSearch allows you to search across all library databases (except video databases). Good for interdisciplinary topics like Criminology, but sometimes a discipline-specific database might be better for more focused research.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts is a bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Gale's Criminal Justice collection makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 617 active global OA journals.

Selected Journals

Theoretical Criminology: "...a major interdisciplinary, international, peer reviewed journal committed to advancing the links between criminological analysis and general social and political theory." (3 year text delay)
Critical Criminology: Addresses issues of social harm and social justice, including work exploring the intersecting lines of class, gender, race/ethnicity, and heterosexism and oppression.
Crime and Delinquency: A peer-reviewed, policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice.
The Journal of Gender, Race, and Justice: Provides a focus on race, sex, class, religion, and other subjects.

Find more journals via the journal search box

Find Monogaphs (Scholarly Books):

RamSearch - limit to preferred book type after initial search
Minuteman Catalog Search - limit to FSU items only or request books from 40+ other Metro-West libraries
Ebsco eBooks - Many good, recently-published academic monographs