In Biology, basic, background, or reference information can be helpful for understanding your research topic or if you need to cite definitional information. This sort of information can be in books, in library databases, and on the open web.

Ram Search can be used to find background information, in addition to other types of information. You can use the limiters to limit to just books, ebooks, and/or reference/encyclopedic content. Ram Search only includes books available at the Henry Whittemore Library and ebooks in the databases we subscribe to. For locating books outside of Whittemore Library use the Minuteman Library Network or World Cat.

Books useful for students learning about biology topics will include the following:

• Basic, background, authoritative information (aka 'Reference Books')
  • Basic facts, history, timelines, handbooks
• Detailed, scholarly analysis about a topic (aka academic books or 'Monographs')
  • Discussion of scientific progress and understanding,  consensus and controversies
  • Some monographs are essentially collections of well-regarded journal articles by respected experts in the field

• The Minuteman Library Network Catalog

  The Whittemore Library is a member of the MetroWest Minuteman Library Network, whose libraries share a catalog that offers an easy interface for finding and requesting books, music, movies, and more. Search just for resources at the Whittemore Library, or all libraries in the network at once. You can request items from other libraries to be lent to you (you will need your FSU library card number), whereupon they will be quickly delivered to the Whittemore Library.
• RamSearch

  RamSearch allows you to search multiple Whittemore Library databases at once, delivering up results in every format (books, periodicals, videos, audio, etc.). After your initial search, you can limit your search results to a particular type of result (such as books). The results listings will provide either a link to full-text content, or to an inter-library loan request form.
• Credo Reference

  Credo Reference is an online database that features factual, authoritative ('reference') content from over 900 books in a broad range of subjects.
• Gale eBooks

  Gale eBooks is a small collection of authoritative digital reference books.
• Whittemore Library Reference Room

  The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library, located in the back left corner, and contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more. Since reference books do not circulate, a photocopy machine is available right outside the room.
• WorldCat

  WorldCat.org searches thousands of libraries around the world to connect you to the library content you are seeking. Once you find an item's location, it can easily be requested via our interlibrary loan form.

Just want to browse the shelves? Check the below list for the call number ranges for your biology topic of interest. Remember that we have books in the stacks on the lower levels and books in the reference room on the first floor. 

• Biology (General).........QH 301 - QH 358
• Evolution........................QH 359 - QH 425
• Genetics.........................QH 426 - QH 470
• Botany (General)..........QK 1 - QK 474.5
• Zoology (General)........QL 1 - QL 355
• Invertebrates.................QL 360 - QL 599
• Vertebrates....................QL 605 - QL 739
• Fishes................QL 614 - QL 639
• Reptiles.............QL 640 - QL 669
• Amphibians......QL 640 - QL 669
• Birds..................QL 671 - QL 699
• Mammals..........QL 700 - QL 739
• Microbiology (General).....QR 1 - QR 74

For information on how to understand the call numbers check this out. 

Google can be a wonderful resource for finding background information on your topic! The search commands listed below will help you find credible information using Google.

site

What it does: Searches within a specific site or domain. Useful for locating information from specific government organizations. Also useful for locating materials more generally from .gov or .edu domains. 

Examples: site:who.int or site:.gov

Notes: Be careful if searching for site:.edu. Not all websites that end in .edu are universities or other educational institutions, the domain can be used by anyone. 

Filetype

What it does: Searches for specific file types. Useful for looking for reports, white papers, working papers, or factsheets. 

Examples: filetype:pdf

Notes: There may be information you are missing if you limit to one filetype! 

Additional Examples

Example search: Lyme disease site:who.int filetype:pdf

What it retrieves: This search retrieves pdf files published to the web on the WHO website. 

Example search: bt corn site:usda.gov

What it retrieves: This search retrieves any information on bt corn on the USDA website.