Whittemore Library: Neuroscience Resources: Find Articles and Journals

Reusable Ram Search Widget

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent starting point, but don't forget to check discipline-specific databases as well!

Gale PowerSearch provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference articles, multimedia, and primary source information. When searching in PowerSearch check out the Topic Finder function to discover additional keywords.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth articles on today's issues. Each article provide a contextual overview of the issue and many include pro and con sections.

Science Databases with Biology & Life Sciences Content.

These databases are particularly helpful in biological research.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 950+ science journals, most full-text. Includes over 800 full-text journals in the life science fields, including the Agricultural and Biological sciences, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, and Neuroscience.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,400+ peer-reviewed journals dedicated to research in the field of psychology and the behavioral sciences, including disciplines which focus on the biological aspects of behavior including biopsychology and neurobiology. Coverage from 1887 to date. EBSCOhost database: [1887 to date]
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to medical and allied health journals available through EbscoHost. Links to FSU's full text journal articles via ARTICLE LINKER. Coverage 1966 to date. EBSCOhost database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Published by National Institutes of Health. Coverage from 1950's.

SciFinder Scholar
A web-based version of Chemical Abstracts. Useful for locating articles in the fields of biochemistry, biochemical genetics, organic chemistry, macromolecular chemistry. nutritional biochemistry, and other chemistry based fields of study related to the biological and biomedical sciences. [1907 to date] Use the link above to email the Reference desk to get access to the SciFinder Scholar registration URL.

Full-Text Journal Finder

To find out if a journal is available online and full-text, enter the name of the journal in the search box of the Full Text Journal Finder. If it is available full-text, then you will be able to locate which database contains the journal.

Full-text Journal Finder

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Full-Text Journal Finder

Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)

2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.

3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.

MLN Online Catalog

Open Access Journals

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
This site is a directory of open-access scholarly journals. Gives access to over 200 Biology and Life Science journals.
PloS Biology
An open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLoS), a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. New articles are published online weekly; issues are published monthly.
BMC Neuroscience
An open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of the nervous system, including molecular, cellular, developmental and animal model studies, as well as cognitive and behavioral research, and computational modeling.

Databases for Mobile Devices

These are some databases that can be viewed as either an app (on your smartphone or iPad) or as a website customized for a mobile device.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.

How to Read a Citation

Bisconti, T. L., Bergeman, C. S., & Boker, S. M. (2006). Social support as a predictor of variability: An examination of the adjustment trajectories of recent widows. Psychology and Aging, 21, 590-599.

The authors: T.L. Bisconti, C.S. Bergeman, and S.M. Boker.

Year published: 2006

Journal article title: Social support as a predictor of variability: an examination of the adjustment trajectories of recent widows

Journal title: Psychology and Aging

Volume number: 21(there may be an issue number, too)

Pages: 590-599

Henry Whittemore Library

Neuroscience Resources