Whittemore Library: How to Search Nursing Literature: Searching the Databases

Introduction

Once you have established your search strategy you are ready to begin searching the databases!

Tips for Searching:

Keep in mind that searching the literature is an interative process. In running one search you may discover better keywords to use, or limiters to apply.
Always think of synonyms. Many concepts have multiple ways of describing the concept. For example a heart attack can also be called a myocardial infraction. If your search isn't turning up the results you expect try to think of any synonyms for the concepts you are searching for and "or" them into your search.
Be careful about using the full-text only limiter. If you limit to full-text you may miss out on key papers. Additionally just because the full text isn't available in CINAHL doesn't mean the library doesn't have access to it through a different resource. If you are running a comprensive search for an integrative review DO NOT limit your search to full-text only.
Be careful about limiting your search by date. For some projects you may want only recent research. For comprehensive projects, like an integrative review where understanding the full historical context of your topic is important, if you limit your search by date you may miss critical early research.
Remember that you can always exclude papers in the screening process, but you can't make your search more robust after the search phase.
If you get stuck talk to a librarian!

Advanced Search in CINHAL

Advanced Searching in CINAHL

See the below PDF on how to use the advanced search features of CINAHL and how to search CINAHL using your PICO.

Boolean operators

If you need a refresher on boolean operators check out this video from Stewart Library at Weber State University.

Key Databases for Integrative Reviews

These are the key databases for the integrative reviews you will be working on. The topic of your review will determine which databases you decide to search. Remember that you need to search multiple databases to make your literature search as robust as possible.

Remember to DOCUMENT all your searches. Even if you don't find any articles. If you don't document it you didn't do the work!

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the key database for nursing. It indexes and abstracts 3,000 + nursing and allied health journals, and provides full-text for hundreds of nursing journals.

EBSCOhost database [1937 to date]
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus: Framingham State University Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 53 Nursing journals available full-text to nursing students.

To search the complete OVID Nursing Database, click on the "Change" link (located above the search box), then click on "OVID Nursing Database"[1948 to date]. This database connects you to citations to articles in 1000's of medical and nursing journals, including the 58 full-text journals in the FSU OVID Nursing Journal Collection.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the most comprehensive database in the field of education, and is a great resource for the nurse educator. ERIC indexes and abstracts 1,000+ education journals and over 476,000 ERIC documents (300,000+ of which are available full-text).

EBSCOhost database [1966 to date]
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsychINFO abstracts and indexes 1,500+ journals in psychology and related fields, including psychiatric nursing.

EBSCOhost database [1887 to date]

Other Useful Databases

HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes many full-text nursing journals.
EBSCOhost database [1975 to date]

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to medical, nursing and allied health journals.
Links to FSU's full text journal articles via ARTICLE LINKER.

EBSCO database [1946-date] EBSCOhost database [1966 to date]
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the free-to-the-public version of the MedLine database. PubMed also includes literature not yet indexed for MedLine.

Coverag: 1946-date
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration. Many articles are full-text. Gale / Infotrac database [1980 to date]
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexes full-text medical journals and a subset of 150+ full-text nursing and allied health sciences journals. Provides access to 950+ science journals, most full-text.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for professional educators, this database indexes 500+ full-text education periodicals, of which more than 300 are peer-reviewed journals. Good resource for the Nurse Educator.

EBSCOhost database [1965 to date]
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database includes full-text of 860+ journals in the field. Useful for research on the social and cultural aspects of nursing.

EBSCOhost database [1908 to date]
AgeLine This link opens in a new window Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Great source for the literature of social gerontology. Includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. Indexes books, book chapters, reports and 200+ journals. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present