Who can visit the Library and use physical items while on site:

Anyone

Who Can Borrow Items from the Main Collection (books in the stacks) and the McNaughton browsing collection:

• All FSU community members (Students, Staff and Faculty) with a valid, non-expired ID
• Patrons from other Minuteman libraries with a valid library card
• Mass Bay Community College students while in residence on the FSU campus, and who have obtained a valid FSU library card from Access Services
• FSU Alumni, upon request (no cost). No item borrowing limit
• Students with a valid ID card who are currently enrolled at any of the Massachusetts public institutions of higher education (via the ILL Walk-in Program)

Who can access the Whittemore Library's Digital Collections via our online databases:

• All FSU community members (Students, Staff and Faculty) with a valid, non-expired ID, including Distance / Online Students
  • Online-only students must contact circulation@framingham.edu with their name, address, phone number, email, year of graduation and student ID number
  • Once the information is received and a library account / record is made, the library barcode number will be emailed to the online student allowing them access to our e-resources, and the ability to request articles via our Interlibrary Loan service

Who can look at / read the materials while visiting the Curriculum Library:

• Anyone

Who can borrow materials from the Curriculum Library:

• All FSU community members (Students, Staff and Faculty) with a valid, non-expired ID
• Minuteman patrons with a valid library card from other libraries: But only with the approval of the Curriculum Library staff
• FSU Alumni, upon request : An alum may have a maximum of 2 curriculum items checked-out at any one time
  • Attempting to borrow more than the allowed maximum may lead to loss of Curriculum Library borrowing privileges

What you need in order to borrow Whittemore Library materials:

• A validated Framingham State ID or a faculty/staff/alumni Minuteman card must be presented.
• The registration and/or validation of patrons' cards is done at the Circulation desk the first time the card is used.

What Circulates:

• Our physical print collection (Main, McNaughton)

What does NOT Circulate:

• Reference materials
• Print Periodicals
• Special collection items
• Physical Reserve materials

Lending periods:

• Current students, staff/faculty, alumni, and Minuteman card holders - 3 weeks

Renewals:

• Items may be renewed twice, provided they have not been requested by another patron.
• Renewal may be done in person, by telephone or in the "My Account" area of the library catalog.
• It is the borrowers' responsibility to renew items before the due date.
• Interlibrary loan items obtained from outside of the Minuteman network have a lending period set by the owning library.  ILL items can only be renewed by contacting the ILL coordinator before the due date.  

Library Fines:

• Although the Whittemore Library is now fine free for overdue books, if an item is lost or damaged, a replacement fee of up to $50.00 will be charged.

'Open Stacks' Policy

• Our collection is 'open', patrons can access our physical collections easily. Thus, it is their responsibility to retrieve their own materials from the shelves.  Library staff will provide help in locating items if needed, but they will not collect materials from the shelves for patrons. 

In accordance with the recommendation of the Office of Intellectual Freedom of the American Library Association, registration and circulation records at the Whittemore Library are confidential.

• Library registration includes information required of the patrons in order for them to borrow materials.
• Circulation records include any information that identifies the patron as borrowing particular materials.

The library staff will not release any of the information contained in the registration or circulation records except by formal state or federal judicial order.  Authorized library staff may use the above-mentioned records in order to perform routine duties.