Whittemore Library: Social Issue: Euthanasia: Scholarly Articles

Obtaining Articles about Euthanasia from...

EBSCO Search Box

pointing hand For database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

Getting More Full Text

Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. Research topics in Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Essays by seasoned journalists about current events and controversial topics. Includes news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice articles from 150 journals.

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from psychology journals, most peer-reviewed.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Research articles about different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Finding Journals at FSU:

Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
Search for a specific journal by name on our Journal Search Page
Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

Selected Journals Containing info about Abortion

Bioethics
Peer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues.
Death Studies
Refereed articles in the areas of death education, death-related counseling and terminal care, hospice and bereavement counseling, and research reports on all aspects of dying, death and bereavement, including ethical, legal and professional issues.
Issues in Law and Medicine
Devoted to providing technical and informational assistance to attorneys, health care professionals, educators and administrators on legal, medical, and ethical issues arising from health care decisions.
Journal of Medical Ethics
Promotes ethical reflection and conduct in scientific research and medical practice.
New England Journal of Medicine
Journal of the Massachusetts Medical Society.
OMEGA - Journal of Death and Dying
Original articles and book reviews on death and dying for professional social workers, those in health education, mental health workers, nursing and counseling.
Suicide & Life-Threatening Behavior
Devoted to emergent approaches in theory and practice related to suicide and life-threatening behaviors.

Google Scholar

Google has a specialized search that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles
- NOTE: There is no way to limit Google Scholar search results to be just peer-reviewed
- If you find a journal online, the journal website/home page will tell you if it is peer-reviewed, in one of these 2 areas:
  - the 'Info for authors' area
  - the 'about this journal' area
Follow the links (when available) on the right hand side of the Google Scholar results listing to retrieve full text of search results
Below each search result there is an icon of double quotes that links to citation information
Check FSU for full-text of citations found online: Run the complete article title as a phrase search in RamSearch
Request articles NOT currently available at FSU via our Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, copies of articles that are NOT available full text at FSU
While searching library databases, if our site does not have access to article full text, you will have an option to click a link to an ILL form that is already half filled out
- Complete that online form and submit it to request that article
- Don't forget to fill out the part of the form asking what is the date after which you do not need the desired article any more
- You will receive in your e-mail box either a link/password to retrieve your article, or an attached PDF
- We have no control over how quickly requested articles arrive, so plan accordingly
The library site also has a link to a blank ILL Request Form
- Use the blank version if you find a citation for an article online, can't get full text online or at FSU, and still want to get a copy
  - To use the blank ILL form, you need a library card number
  - If you do not have one, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information