Whittemore Library: Social Issue: Gun Control: Scholarly Articles

Obtaining Gun Control Articles from...

EBSCO Search Box

pointing hand For database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

Getting More Full Text

Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. Research topics in Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Great general resource. News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun Violence
A selection of recent scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on gun violence, its effect throughout the culture, and its possible solutions.

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts is a bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice articles from 150 journals.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America is a part of Hein Online's Social Justice Suite. It serves as a historical and legal resource containing lists of historical statues on gun ownership, legal hearings, Supreme Court briefs, and scholarly articles, amongst other resources.

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from psychology journals, most peer-reviewed.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Research articles about different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Finding Journals at FSU:

Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
Search for a specific journal by name on our Journal Search Page
Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

Selected Journals Containing info about Gun Control

Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms Quarterly Bulletin
Contains US Department of the Treasury decisions, rulings, and procedural and administrative matters concerning alcohol, tobacco, firearms, and explosives.
Criminal Justice
Publishes articles with a focus on the practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system.
Firearms News
Provides information on buying, selling, or trading firearms; includes news about gun control legislation.
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology
Original articles, research articles, practitioner essays, comment and reviews on all aspects of criminal law and criminology.
Journal on Firearms and Public Policy
Published by the Second Amendment Foundation. Access to legal, economic, historical and other scholarly research about the Second Amendment.
Shooting Industry
Magazine serving the firearms industry. Includes articles about gun control legislation.

Google Scholar

The link above leads to an online search filter that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles.
If you are looking for a specific article where you already know the complete title, search for it in quotes - i.e., put double quotation marks ( " ) on each end of the title.
Follow the 'Find it @ Framingham' link (when available) on the right hand side to retrieve full text of search results that are available at FSU.
Request articles NOT currently available at FSU via our Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

FSU's Interlibrary Loan Service

The link above leads to a blank ILL Request Form.
Fill out and submit this form to receive copies of articles that are NOT available full text at FSU.
You will receive in your e-mail box either a link/password to retrieve your article, or a PDF.