Whittemore Library: ANTH 172: Interpreting the Past / Archaeological Perspectives: Home

Welcome!

students at an archeological field site

"In archaeology, context is everything. Objects allow us to reconstruct the past. Taking artifacts from a temple or an ancient private house is like emptying out a time capsule"

- Sarah Parcak

Reference Best Bets

Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall
ISBN: 0123736439
Publication Date: 2008
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

Find More Reference (Print & eBooks) in:

RamSearch - Offers 'Research Starters' for basic topics
Minuteman Catalog Search - Limit to FSU items only; print Reference books are in the Quiet Study Room
Credo Reference - More than 900 authoritative reference eBooks

Article Best Bets

RamSearch This link opens in a new window
RamSearch allows you to search across all databases available through the library. RamSearch provides an excellent starting point for your research, but a discipline-specific database may be a better for more in-depth research.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, comprising more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and offering 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections I and VII; Search back issues of core journals (357 titles) in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 617 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.

Selected Journals

Find more journals via the journal search box

Find Monographs (Scholarly Books):

RamSearch - limit to preferred book format (Print or eBook) after initial search
Minuteman Catalog Search - limit to FSU items only or request books from 40+ other Metro-West libraries
Ebsco eBooks - Many good, recently-published academic monographs