Whittemore Library: NUTR 262: Food, Culture, and Society: Research Articles

Obtaining Food & Culture Research Articles...

pointing hand For database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

Getting More Full Text

Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

Top Databases for Food & Culture Articles

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Culinary Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts offers a smorgasbord of information—more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections I and VII; Search back issues of core journals (357 titles) in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

EBSCO Search Box

Ram Search

Search for articles, books, journals, and more!

Pros:
- Can be useful for interdisciplinary topics
- Can see the list of databases searched, then choose a few specific ones to make a custom search
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
- Defaults to finding only full-text results
Cons:
- Not able to search every database we have
- Tends to be less precise, more like a Google search
- Searches books, news and other stuff, too; may have to filter those results out
- Defaults to finding only full-text results - you may miss citations that would be useful for assignments

If you try this, use the advanced search page to get more precise searches

2) Multiple Ebsco Databases at once

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases
How to do it:
- Go to any Ebsco database (e.g.: CINAHL Plus)
- Look for the 'Choose Databases' link right next to the database name (above the main search box)
- Click on the 'Choose Databases' link to see a pop-up window with list of every Ebsco database we have access to
- Click the boxes next to any of the other Ebsco databases that would be useful for your search
  - E.g.: You might want to search both CINAHL and Professional Development Collection
- Click the yellow 'OK" button at the top
- Run your search

3) Multiple Gale Databases at once

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

4) Multiple ProQuest Databases at once

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

Finding Individual Journals at FSU

Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
Search for a specific journal title on our Journal Search Page
Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
- We may get older issues from one source and current issues from a different source
- Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
Yes, you can search within an individual journal
- There will be a search box somewhere (usually upper right) on the journal's main page
- Run a keyword or title phrase search there
Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

Selected Journals and magazines that include articles about food, society and culture

Anthropology of Food
The webjournal dedicated to the human and social sciences of food.
The Art of Eating
"About the best food and wine — what they are, how they are produced, where to find them (the farms, markets, shops, restaurants). The focus is taste, especially the connection between the taste of food and wine and the place they come from. We look for the logic of geography, methods, and culture that make good food good — that give character and the finest flavor. The underlying theme is connoisseurship, including the nuts and bolts of choosing, cooking, and enjoying food and drink."
Delicous Living
"...a trusted voice online and in print for the natural health community. delicious living meets modern needs with contemporary natural health care methods and expert advice, covering everything from health trends to natural beauty to healthy cooking."
Food, Culture and Society
Explores the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
Gastronomica (Full Text 2002 - 2012)
Covers academic scholarship on food cultures, including questions of food, gastronomy, and the culinary arts.
Grub Street
An award-winning food and restaurant blog, which gives consumers an inside look at the food business and its key players.
Woman's Day
Edited to meet the daily needs of today's American woman. Including info & advice on beauty, fashion, food, health/fitness, home, family, relationships, careers, money, management, crafts & current issues.

Google Scholar

Google has a specialized search that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles
- NOTE: There is no way to limit Google Scholar search results to be just peer-reviewed
- If you find a journal online, the journal website/home page will tell you if it is peer-reviewed or not
  - This information will be most likely to be in:
    - The 'about / about this journal' section
    - The information provided for authors who are submitting articles
Follow the links (when available) on the right hand side of the results listing to retrieve full text of search results
Below each search result there is an icon of double quotes that links to citation information
Check FSU for full-text of citations found online: Run the complete article title as a phrase search in RamSearch
Request articles NOT currently available at FSU via our Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, copies of articles that are NOT available full text at FSU
While searching library databases, if our site does not have access to article full text, you will have an option to click a link to an ILL form that is already half filled out
- Complete that online form and submit it to request that article
- Don't forget to fill out the part of the form asking what is the date after which you do not need the desired article any more
- You will receive in your e-mail box either a link/password to retrieve your article, or an attached PDF
- We have no control over how quickly requested articles arrive, so plan accordingly
The library site also has a link to a blank ILL Request Form
- Use the blank version if you find a citation for an article online, can't get full text online or at FSU, and still want to get a copy
  - To use the blank ILL form, you need a library card number
  - If you do not have one, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information