The Ella C. Ritchie Curriculum Library, located on the Upper Mezzanine Level, exists primarily to serve the specialized information needs of FSU students enrolled in Education Department courses.

• The Curriculum Materials Collection
  • Current textbooks, lesson plan resources and kits and assorted items used for creating hands-on student lessons and projects, located in UM-16
  • The Swider Collection, a collection of children's literature located on the shelving directly opposite the Curriculum Library offices
• Children's Literature
  • Arranged to represent a typical K - 12 school library collection
• The Notable Collection
  • A collection of notable materials, this collection, is housed in UM-18, and does not circulate - contact Curriculum Library staff for more information

Anyone may access and use the materials in the Curriculum Library on-site when the Whittemore Library is open. However, please be aware that FSU education students will at all times have priority access to the space and collections.

Who can borrow Curriculum Library items, and how many total can they have out at one time?

The FSU community (students, faculty, staff, administrators):

• May borrow and have out an UNLIMITED number of items at one time from the UM-16 Curriculum Materials Collection or the Children's Literature shelves.
• If an item is lost, please consult with the Curriculum Librarian

FSU Alumni:

• Get permission from the Curriculum Library staff to borrow and have checked out up to TWO items max at one time from the UM-16 Curriculum Materials Collection.

Minuteman Network Patrons:

• IF you get permission (case-by-case basis; permission needed every time) from on-site Curriculum Library staff, you can borrow and have out ONE Curriculum Collection from UM - 16, and/or ONE Swider Collection item at one time
• You must come in person (no online requests or shipping to other Minuteman libraries)

• To avoid possible disappointment, we recommend that you confirm library hours and Curriculum staff availability (particularly in-between academic semesters) prior to traveling to the Whittemore Library

Massachusetts State Higher Education Students doing Walk-In ILL

• You can borrow and have out ONE Curriculum Collection item from UM-16 and ONE Swider collection item at one time.
• IF you have a current, valid MA state community college / college / university ID
• AND you get permission (case-by-case basis; permission needed EVERY TIME) from on-site Curriculum Library staff
• To avoid possible disappointment, we recommend that you confirm library hours and Curriculum staff availability (particularly in-between academic semesters) prior to traveling to the Whittemore Library