Access

Materials in the care of the Special Collections are available to researchers from both within and beyond the University community. Use of the University's archival or manuscript collections require completion of a registration form.

Items housed in the Special Collections do not circulate. They should be consulted in SC110 - John Halpern Special Collections Room Monday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Reference Services

The Special Collections offers a variety of reference services. Requests for services can be made in-person, by telephone, mail, and through e-mail.

Individual Researchers

Information about the collections can be found in the Minuteman Network catalog as well as in the finding aids, guides and indexes available in the Special Collections located in SC110 - John Halpern Special Collections Room.

Photocopies and photographic reproductions can be made upon request when the condition of the original permits.

Classes

The students and faculty of Framingham State University are encouraged to access the unique resources of the Special Collections. The materials in the Special Collections can be used to support coursework and introduce students to the use of primary source research. To schedule a class presentation or visit to the Special Collections, contact Framingham State Archivist/Special Collections Librarian, Colleen Previte or at 508-626-4648.

Copyright Use Statement

The Framingham State University Archives and Special Collections offer access to the collections in order to support education, research and scholarship. Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Additionally, the use or reproduction of certain materials may be restricted by terms of gift, privacy and publicity rights, and University policy.

Reproduction or transmission of protected items beyond that allowed under fair use exemptions to the U.S. Copyright Law requires the written permission of the copyright owner. The nature of historical archival collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. Whenever possible, the Archives and Special Collections staff will provide information about copyright owners and other restrictions in the collections' finding aids. It is the obligation of the researcher to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or distributing materials found in the Archives and Special Collections.