RamSearch searches almost all our databases at once (doesn't do the video databases), lets you limit results to peer-reviewed, and if a full-text version of a resource is not available, provides a partially filled-out interlibrary loan request form for you.

Since Linguistics is one of the more interdisciplinary fields, there are many databases that can have linguistics-related articles in them, which means that using RamSearch may be a good place to start in this particular subject.

Looking for linguistics literature in individual databases will depend on your focus: Neurolinguistics? Science databases. Teaching languages or Language acquisition? Education & Psychology databases. Language & culture? Sociological databases. Languages' literatures? Humanities databases. I think you get the idea.

• Academic Search Complete
• AnthroSource
• ERIC
• JSTOR
• MLA Directory of Periodicals
• MLA International Bibliography
• ProjectMUSE
• PsycINFO
• Science Direct
• SocINDEX with Full Text

• Semantics Archive: Preprint natural language semantics & philosophy of language repository
• LingBuzz: General linguistics Article & preprint archive

Preprint = The article version just before it was peer-reviewed / published. Why might you want to read one of these when peer-reviewed is considered better? The preprints probably aren't much different from the very final (published) version, and you can at least get an idea of what they did, especially if you're just looking around for ideas and inspiration.  (Just don't try to pass it off as the reviewed, published version).

Request a PDF copy (Interlibrary Loan Request)

• No cost to you
• ILL Dept. operates during the M - F work week; no weekend service
• We have no control over delivery time; please plan accordingly