Whittemore Library: Linguistics: Corpora & Data

Corpora

A corpus is a searchable database of language samples for linguistic research. A corpus may be based on written or spoken language. Some corpora are tagged or annotated by part of speech; other corpora are plain text.

Linguistic Data Consortium
Over 600 corpora of text and spoken language.
English-Corpora.org
Previously known as the "BYU Corpora", these are some of the most well-known corpora of American and British English. Includes COCA, COHA and British National Corpus.
COHA: The Corpus of Historical American English
Part of the English-Corpora.org collection. Corpus of Historical American English (COHA), is a 400-million corpus of text published 1890's-200's. It is the largest structured corpus of historical English (or any language, for that matter). COHA is related to other large corpora, including the Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA), the 100 million word TIME Corpus (1920s-2000s), and the British National Corpus.
COCA: The Corpus of Contemporary American English
Part of the English-Corpora.org collection. The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest freely-available corpus of American English, with over 1 billion words, and the only large, genre-balanced corpus of American English. COCA was released in 2008. Text are from 1990-2019.

More Data

ACL: List of Resources by Language
List of ACL Anthology language pages from Albanian to Zulu, providing links and commentary on computational resources for each
ELRA Catalogue
Repository of over 1,500 language resources (LRs) from the European Language Resource Association

PHOIBLE Repository of cross-linguistic phonological inventory data compiled into a single searchable convenience sample. Includes phoneme inventories and distinctive feature data for every phoneme in every language.
Natural Language Toolkit (NLTK)
"... provides easy-to-use interfaces to over 50 corpora and lexical resources such as WordNet, along with a suite of text processing libraries for classification, tokenization, stemming, tagging, parsing, and semantic reasoning, wrappers for industrial-strength NLP libraries, and an active discussion forum."
Open Speech and Language Resources (OpenSLR)
"... site devoted to hosting speech and language resources, such as training corpora for speech recognition, and software related to speech recognition."