Whittemore Library: Education and Curriculum Resources: Find Articles and Journals

Key Education Databases

These databases are particularly helpful for locating research in education, educational theory and issues, curriculum development, and related fields.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database in the field of education. Indexes and abstracts 1000+ education journals and over 476,000+ ERIC documents, 300,000+ full-text. (8/2012 full-text of of ERIC documents are temporarily unavailable - Note: ERIC documents have an ED accession number. Note: 1/2013 rev. Full-text ERIC documents that do not violate privacy issues are being added back into the ERIC database.)
EBSCOhost database [1966 to date]
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for educators, this database indexes 500+ full-text education periodicals. EBSCOhost database [1965 to date]
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Click on this link to search multiple EBSCOhost databases

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent jumping off point, but don't forget to check databases specialized to your discipline as well! Use the EBSCO search box below, the Gale PowerSearch it button, or one of the other general purpose databases listed below to get started on your research.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
Article First This link opens in a new window
FirstSearch navigates through WorldCat’s 498 million bibliographic records in seconds, connecting searchers to exactly what they need. Researchers and library staff can find and select resources in thousands of library collections with rich information from WorldCat records.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher reports cover an array of topics including public policy, law and civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more. Includes pro/con debate.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Gale Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo.

Specialized Curriculum/Frameworks/Standards Resources database

Children's & YA's Databases

Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window
Database developed for students K-Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. Covers a broad range of topics. [Includes a teacher's toolbox link.]
[1980 to date]

Useful for developing curriculum materials.

Junior Edition [InfoTrac database]
Database designed for students in Junior High and Middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on a broad range of topics. [Includes a student's toolbox link.]
[1980 to date]

Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Database designed for High-School students. Provides access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts and reference books on a broad range of topics.
[1980 to date]
MAS Ultra- School Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed for high school libraries. Indexes approximately 500 popular, high school magazines, 360+ refererence books, 85,600+ biographies, 107,000+ primary source documents, an image collection of 510,000+ photos, flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Database designed for Elementary School Libraries and Public Library Children's Rooms. Indexes and abstracts almost 100 magazines. Includes 70+ full-text popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Includes the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd ed., and a School Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags. [1985 to date]

World Book Online (Currently NOT available at F.S.U.)
Includes access to 31,000+ encyclopedia articles, 6,000+ Web links, 25,000+ periodical articles, 800+ videos and animations, 400+ interactive maps; and 3-D bubble views. [Includes an "Educator's Tools" feature with links to curriculum, lesson plans & to Massachusetts standards].

Databases in Related Fields: Behavioral Sciences

Specialized databases in related fields that contain research applicable to the field of Education:

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes 500+ full-text behavioral sciences periodicals, most of them peer-reviewed journals indexed in PsychINFO.
EBSCOhost database [1965 to date]
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts & indexes 1,500+ journals in psychology and related fields, including child development, child psychology & educational psychology.
EBSCOhost database [1887 to date]

Socindex with Full Text
Sociology research database includes full-text of 500+ journals in the field. Useful for research on the social and cultural aspects of education.
EBSCOhost database [1908 to date]

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Full-Text Journal Finder

Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)

2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.

3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.

MLN Online Catalog

Key Statistical Databases

Search here for statistcal data relating to education:

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Designed for quick statistical lookups. You can limit data by geographical area.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.

Helpful Handouts

Key publications from the Internet

Directory of Open Access Journals
This site is a directory of open-access scholarly journals, including over 450 titles dedicated to the field of education.

Where to Publish

Where to submit a manuscript: