We will place print books, DVDs, etc., and two photocopies max of a book chapter or article on the reserves shelves behind the Access Services Desk.

We will put one digital copy max of a journal article or book chapter on e-Reserves. 

The Library will obtain any needed copyright clearance for items to be placed on reserve.  But If permission cannot be obtained, or if the licensing fee is too prohibitive, the item will not be placed on reserve and we'll notify you.

We'll let you know when reserve items are available, after which you'll need to inform your students.

• Contact reserves@framingham.edu to place materials on reserve.
• If you have further questions, please contact Lori Wolfe at lwolfe1@framingham.edu.

Please see our complete Course Reserves Policy for details

This is a 15 to 20 minute long tour of the physical library - and it's a great way to get your students into the library and more familiar with so much of what we have to offer, including the Access Services Desk, our reservable study rooms, the Rams Renew Room, and our Research & Learning Walk-Up Help- Desk!

To request a tour, please email our Student Outreach coordinator, Weronika Zawora.

The Research & Learning Department Librarians are available for instruction sessions, held in our instruction room UM-14 (preferred), or in your classroom. We look forward to supporting your students in whatever information and media literacy skills you would like reinforced. A great time to have us come in is just as a research-heavy assignment is starting.

Most sessions run an hour (preferred), and longer sessions, in-class activities, multiple visits, and modalities such as co-teaching and  flipped classroom are available. Instruction sessions are available for both day and evening (DGCE) classes. For those of you teaching online-only or hybrid courses, instruction lessons can be held via Zoom. Our schedule fills up quickly, so please contact us as soon as you know you'd like an instruction session, as we cannot guarantee accommodation of last-minute requests.

Another popular option (especially for online-only classes), is to have an 'Embedded Librarian' given access to your Canvas class site so that they may monitor an "Ask a Librarian" discussion board and in that way offer their experience and assistance to your students all semester long. Adding a posting requirement or offering extra credit can get students who normally might not communicate with the library to start conversing with us, whereupon they're generally pleasantly surprised at how we can help them get started with complicated research assignments.

Customized research guides that have been optimized for individual courses are also available upon request.

Questions? Please e-mail or call our Instruction Coordinator Sandra Rothenberg.

In-person and Zoom Research Consults are available for Faculty wishing for:

• An orientation to our library resources
• An orientation to:
  • Our RamSearch Discovery Tool
  • The Zotero citation management app
  • The ResearchRabbit ai citation mapping web-based app.
• A consult regarding their own in-progress literature review

Does your course need to be marked as either no cost or low cost by the Registrar? Find out here.

If you're wondering, "What does that mean, and why is the Registrar asking me about it?" then this information is for you.

In an effort to combat the rising cost of required textbooks and other class materials, the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education has recommended that MA state colleges and universities formally designate which

• courses (all course sections involved use free or low cost required materials)
• individual sections of a course (even if the other sections don't use free or low cost required materials)
• directed studies
• labs

are:

• 'No-cost' (The required main text / materials are completely free)

or

• 'Low-cost' (The main required text / materials cost $50 or under).

These clear designations will make it easy for students to identify coursed which (beyond tuition) are free or low-cost to take.

See the complete Course-Marking Guide Here.

Learn about the basics of OER (free, online, available from day 1 textbooks & more!)  from:

• The Library's OER Help Guide

Learn even more about OER and what is involved with finding, using, revising, and creating new OER from:

• The Whittemore Library's OER Faculty Liaison (aka the Scholarly Communications Librarian)
• All meeting modes available (In-person, Teams, Zoom)

• Framingham State University Digital Repository (FSUDR)
  • Preserves and showcases the University’s history and the intellectual and artistic outputs of Framingham State University students, faculty, and staff.
• Digital Exhibits@FSU Omeka
  • Class projects, events, and research
• Digital Commonwealth
  • Catalogs, yearbooks, magazines, handbooks and images collections
• Internet Archive
  • Catalogs, yearbooks, magazines, handbooks and images collections

Make the creation of digital exhibits on our Omeka platform part of your course syllabi!  More Info HERE

We can digitize physical video media (under specific circumstances) for your online only class to view.  Find out more!

For questions about any of these digital repositories, contact Abe Newell at anewell1@framingham.edu

Find digitized materials in:

• FSU Digital Repository
• Digital Exhibits@FSU (Omeka)
• Digital Commonwealth
• Internet Archive

Physical Location:

• Archives Room 101 (access to collections by prior arrangement only)
• Special Collections Room 110

What they're useful for:

• Primary sources for events from the past, from 1839 to the present
• Viewing FSU's intellectual output over time
• Learning more about the history of this institution and its alumni via handwritten and printed texts and ephemera

Mission statement

Librarian Liaisons will communicate with the academic departments about the resources and services of the Henry Whittemore Library and will also engage in a dialog to ensure that the needs of the academic community and any issues related to the Library’s collection and services are addressed.