Our Journal Search is by far the quickest way to see if the Whittemore Library has access to the full text of a certain journal.  You can search by title, ISBN, by keyword, or browse by discipline..

When you run a search, then click on a result, you will see precisely what we have access to - and we often have access to a journal from more than one database, so there may be a list of options to choose from, in order to go to full-text access.

Note how much coverage - what years, and what issues, a particular source supplies - we don't always have access to every issue. There also may be a 'full-text delay' on some titles - a time period - could be 6 months, could be a year - before you can read the full text in recent issues.

You can access this search function from the main page search box by choosing the 'Journals' tab, or by going to the Journal search page directly.

At the Whittemore Library, we have access to over 150 databases, since we support all the different programs offered at FSU.  Some are general all-purpose academic databases, with information about a lot of topics, while others specialize on one discipline (like Education or Business). Some databases contain only e-books (Credo Reference or Ebsco e-Books), others contain only academic journal articles, but many have a mix of formats, so you may want to filter your results to see just your preferred type of information (such as peer-reviewed articles).

See ALL our databases here, on our 'A - Z database list'

There, you can limit that long list by choosing a subject (Psychology or Math) or format type (articles vs e-books), to see a shorter list of what you are most interested in.

You may also search all of our databases (except for our streaming video databases) at one time by using our RamSearch discovery tool; this can be especially useful for multidisciplinary topics.

Zoom Research Consults are available for Distance-only Faculty wishing for:

• An orientation to our online library resources
• An orientation to:
  • Our RamSearch Discovery Tool
  • The Zotero citation management app
  • The ResearchRabbit ai citation mapping web-based app.
• A consult regarding their own in-progress literature review

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the general system of cooperative exchange of items among institutions for the purpose of fulfilling the informational needs of their patrons.

Journal Article Requests

Our online ILL Request Form - Please fill in all required information so that we may expedite your request. You will need your FSU library account number to fill out the form, so if you do not yet have this number, please contact Access Services to obtain it

Requested journal articles are made available as a PDF on a secure website, accessed by a unique login and password or code that is e-mailed to FSU patrons.  Occasionally, article PDFs will be emailed directly as an e-mail attachment. Articles become available fairly quickly, usually within a few days to a week.

Print Book Requests

Unfortunately, we are NOT able to provide Distance-only FSU faculty with ILL loans of physical books. Please check our Ebsco e-Books Collection for suitable monographs, and if we then do not have a specific book you are seeking, please contact your local public library to inquire about your region's local ILL services.