An agency within the Department of Human Services, ACF includes policy and planning links to several statistical reports including statistics on adoption/foster care, Head Start programs, and child abuse.

Using federal statistical sources such as U.S. Bureau of the Census, the National Center on Health Statistics, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics, AOA compiles several “aging statistics.” Included are the Profile of Older Americans, Aging Integrated Database (AGID), Census Data and Population Estimates, Projected Future Growth of Older Population, Minority Aging, and Key Indicators of Well-Being.

Provides tables and geographic characteristics that detail expenditures on services to older Americans as required by the Older Americans Act. Statistical information on caregivers, senior centers, abuse prevention, and more are available.

Provided by a forum of federal agencies, this resource includes Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of Well Being, health care and health risks for older Americans data, and access to reports on Retirement Resources, focusing on economic resources of the U.S. population nearing age 65.

Sponsored by UNICEF, this site includes basic international statistics on issues such as HIV/AIDS, education levels, and infant mortality. UNICEF’s online publications “The State of the World’s Children” and “Progress for Children” are also available.

Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site serves as a portal to data on children and families reported by 22 government agencies. “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being” is an annual online publication of the Forum. Users can view the full report or scan through its highlights. In addition to demographic statistics, data are available on emotional and behavioral difficulties, health care, family and social environment, and more.

Provides reports, charts, studies, and more in the topic areas of child poverty, child health, and education. Much of the data retrieved is found in the online report from CDF, “The State of America’s Children.”

This easy-to-use Web site provides simple access to basic mental health statistics. The More Data section includes statistical surveys and publications like Depression in the United States Household Population; access to the mental health trend tables from Health, United States; and more. Data sets are available for downloading and searching.

Maintained by Cornell University, data archived on child welfare and maltreatment allows for secondary analysis. Nearly all data sets are free.

SAMHSA collects and reports the majority of mental health statistics for the United States, and its data site includes statistics on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use in addition to mental health statistics. Includes reports on the population suffering from psychological distress as well as data on mental health treatment. Short reports created from surveys, such as the National Survey on Drug Use and Health, and complete access to data sets from the OAS Data Systems are included.