Today's Hours:
Seating Area
Circulation Desk
Cheers to another 50 years! Thank you for all who came out to kick off @whittemorelib’s 50th anniversary celebration! #whittemoregold pic.twitter.com/3CzV3CLvos
— Framingham State (@FraminghamU) October 23, 2019
Dress to impress in your 1970s inspired costume!
Music, crafts, games, photo booth, and refreshments.
#WHITTEMOREGOLD Presents COSPLAY DISCO
Music, crafts and games. Photobooth. Refreshments.
October 31 Whittemore Library UM14 1:00pm-3:00pm
Dress to impress! Wear you 1970’s inspired costume!
@whittemorelib
_________________________________________________________________________________________
Please Join Us As We Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of
the Henry Whittemore Library at Framingham State University
with two upcoming events:
Event: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony
Date: Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Time: 4 p.m.
Place: Library Entrance & First Floor Foyer
Presentation: by Professor Robert Alter,
“Henry Whittemore Library in the Context of Heroic Concrete Architecture”
Closing Remarks: Colleen Previte, Archivist
Refreshments to follow
Welcome to the Henry Whittemore Library! We have a lot to offer you. The Library staff and I are committed to serving the research needs of the campus community by providing access to resources through collection development and cooperative efforts. We advocate new models of service that use technology and advances partnerships with faculty to promote information literacy. Librarians are able to provide links to the past and pathways to the future by playing a role in guiding on and off campus library users through the maze of available information. Library staff members strive to provide excellent customer service and are committed to creating a respectful and welcoming environment for all library users.
-- Bonnie Mitchell, Dean of the Library
The Henry Whittemore Library is a vital, vibrant part of the Framingham State University community. Through dedicated customer service, the Library supports and advances the academic and cultural missions of the university by providing current, relevant resources and technologies to our students, faculty and administrators which address the needs of a diverse, evolving learning community. By collaborating with faculty and continually adopting new instructional techniques, the library staff strives to develop students’ information literacy and critical thinking skills while encouraging individual interests and self discovery so students can prepare themselves for a successful life beyond our campus.
Henry Whittemore Library is a seven-level structure completed in 1969. The building contains the University library as well as classrooms and other facilities, including the Copy Center, Print Shop, and the Communication Arts and Music Departments. Other features of the building include spacious reading and lounge areas and study carrels. Although there is wireless access throughout the building, public computers are available for those without laptops. The Library has a main collection of over 200,000 volumes and over 60,000 resources on education in the Curriculum Library. The Library provides access to a variety of online databases and electronic journals for on and off-campus users. The Special Collections include rare books on the history of education, contemporary American poetry and travel, cookbooks, and children's literature. The Christa McAuliffe collection contains letters, documents, and other memorabilia related to the Teacher in Space program and the life of Christa McAuliffe. The College Archives include photographs, videotapes, journals, documents, Massachusetts and education history, and publications pertaining to the history of the University.
Scroll down for Library Timeline [1839 to 2019]
Normal School founded in Lexington with 100 books in the first library.
Library moves to 2nd floor of Dwight Hall and is known as the Ella Ritchie Library.
Money was allocated by the Legislature for the building of a new library at the State College of Framingham.
Mary Mahoney served as Chief Librarian at Framingham State College during the move to the new building.
Stanley McDonald becomes the director of the Whittemore Library, remaining in his position until 1996.
To combat annual losses to theft, security gates were installed by the front entrance to the building.
To make more room for study spaces, the Periodicals Department is moved to its present location on the Upper Mezzanine.
Bonnie Mitchell, currently Dean of the Library, was named Library Director.
Whittemore Library undertakes its most extensive changes with renovations to Circulation and most of the first floor.
Whittemore Library celebrates its golden anniversary. The library has planned multiple events and exhibits to celebrate 50 years at Framingham State University.
Normal School moves to Framingham, now with 600 book library housed in Normal Hall.
President Justin McCarthy begins earnestly soliciting support for a new library for the college.
Groundbreaking ceremony on top of Bare Hill for the Henry Whittemore Library.
Students eagerly anticipated the opening of the new library.
Whittemore Library, along with 3 other buildings, is dedicated.
Marion Slack, Whittemore Library’s longest tenured full-time librarian, is hired.
A new roof is applied to Whittemore Library, fixing a persistent leak that had plagued the library since it opened.
The open decks, now WLUM14 (South library face) and WLUM01 (North library face), were enclosed.
Framingham State University celebrates its 175th Anniversary.
Library moves to new home in May Hall , where it will remain for nearly 50 years.
Plans for the Library were created by Desmond & Lord, featuring a unique architectural style (Brutalist style).
Construction continues on the library.
Whittemore Library opens its doors to the faculty, staff, and students at Framingham State College.
An extensive Microfilm collection is added to the library’s holdings, expanding the materials available.
Whittemore Library acquires access to OCLC (a shared cataloging system), connecting the library to thousands of other libraries across the country.
The library joins the Minuteman Library Network, facilitating computerized borrowing for students.
Framingham State College’s Archives are moved to their current location from what is now the Archives Meeting Room on the Lower Mezzanine.
Framingham State’s long-running Children’s Literature Festival is named in honor of graduates and donors Janina and Nancy Swiacki.
Display in the Library celebrating our first ten years. 1969-1979.
Scroll down for 1970's Timeline:
7/20/1969 – Neil Armstrong, U.S. astronaut, sets foot on the moon [Photograph of astronaut on the lunar surface, standing, facing the U.S. flag.]
11/21/1969 – the Internet, originally called the ARPANET, was born [Image of sign, “Arpanet,”.]
11/15/1969 – 250,000 anti-Vietnam War demonstrators march in Washington, D.C. [Photograph of protesters marching with sign, “END THE WAR IN INDOCHINA VIETNAM NOW.”]
Jimi Hendrix died 9/18/1970 – Janis Joplin died 10/4/1970, both at the age of 27
[Photographs of Jimi Hendrix & Janis Joplin.]
12/2/1970 – EPA created [Photograph of smokestacks belching smoke into the air with the EPA symbol in the air next to it.]
January 1971 – Cigarette ads on radio and TV banned [Sign with, “Marlboro Country,” crossed out.]
4/22/1970 – First Earth Day observed [Reproduction of page 1 of the New York Times banner headline, “Millions Join Earth Day Observations Across the Nation,” with a photograph of people marching down 5th Avenue in New York City.]
January 1971 – “All in the Family” premiers on CBS [Photograph of Archie and Edith, and their daughter Gloria, and son-in-law, “Meathead.”]
June / July 1971 – 26th Amendment ratified allowing 18 year olds the right to vote [Reproduction of the announcement from a newspaper.]
February 1972 – Watergate Hotel, the Democratic National Convention Headquarters, is burglarized by 5 Republican Party operatives (Planning by Committee to Re-Elect the President begins early 1972, actual date of break-in is 6/17/1972) [Photograph of Watergate Hotel complex.]
December 1972 – Last manned flight to the moon on Apollo 17th [Astronaut driving a vehicle on the lunar surface.]
February 1972 – President Richard Nixon visits China, which began the normalizing of U.S. relations with China [Photograph of Chinese leader Mao Zedong shaking hands with President Nixon.]
9/18/1975 – Fugitive Patty Hurst is captured in San Francisco, CA [Police photographs of Patty Hurst, facing front & in profile.]
1/22/1973 – Roe v Wade – The Supreme Court ruling that gives women the right to have an abortion [Photograph of women marching with banner, “ … 1973 Our Right to an Abortion.]
10/13/1973 – Arab Oil Embargo – gas prices skyrocket [Photograph of a sign posted at a gas station, “Gas Shortage! Sales limited to 10 GALS. of GAS PER CUSTOMER.]
1/27/1973 – Paris Peace-Accords end direct (U.S.) involvement in the Vietnam War [Photograph of diplomats at a table, one of them signing a document.]
8/9/1974 – President Richard Nixon resigns; Vice President Gerald Ford becomes the 38th President [Reproduction of page 1 of the New York Times with banner headline “NIXON RESIGNS…”]
9/8/1974 – President Ford pardons President Nixon [Reproduction of page 1 of the New York Times, banner headline, “FORD GIVES PARDON TO NIXON, WHO REGRETS ‘MY MISTAKES.’]
10/11/1974 – The TV show, “Saturday Night Live,” first airs on NBC [Photograph of a group of actors from the 1st season of the show.]
4/4/1975 – Microsoft founded “(…with the intention of developing software for personal computers”) [Photograph of Bill Gates and Paul Allen, cofounders.]
4/30/1975 – Saigon fell to the North Vietnamese, forcing the surrender of South Vietnam [Photograph of a line of evacuees lined up on a ladder, waiting to board a helicopter parked on top of a building, the Pittman Apartments, an apartment complex housing U.S. employees, located at 18 Gia Long Street, Saigon.]
7/4/1976 – U.S. Bicentennial, the 200th Anniversary of the American Revolution [Reproduction of the Bicentennial symbol, “American Revolution Bicentennial, 1776-1976.”]
8/26/76 – First known case of the EBOLA virus hits Zaire [Photograph of a man in a hazmat suit spraying the front door of a house.]
7/6/1976 – First class of women inducted at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland [Photograph of a female inductee in her uniform.]
5/25/1977 – The original “Star Wars” movie was first released [Reproduction of the original ad featuring the main characters of the movie.]
1/3/1977 – Apple Computer is incorporated [Photograph of Steve P. Jobs and Stephen Wozniak seated by the inner works of a PC.]
January 23rd to 30th 1977 – “Roots,” the mini-series premiers on ABC [Photograph of the series protagonist, Kunta Kinte, with fetters on his wrists.]
1/21/1977 – President Jimmy Carter pardons U.S. draft dodgers [Photograph of President Carter & reproduction of p.1 of the Washington Post, banner headline, “President Pardons Viet Draft Evaders.”]
5/3/1978 – First Spam email sent by Digital Equipment Corporation to every ARPANET address on the west coast of the U.S. [Photograph of the culprit, “…a guy named Gary Thuerk.”]
10/10/1978 – “Susan B Anthony Dollar Coin Act of 1978” signed into law. The dollar coin was minted in 1979. [Photograph of the coin.]
February 5th to 7th 1978 – The blizzard of ’78 hits New England [Photograph of a lot of people trying to dig out a lot of cars out from under a lot of snow (snow up to the roofs of still the buried cars).]
6/25/1978 – LGBT rainbow flag first flew during the San Francisco Gay Freedom Day parade [Reproduction of a cartoon illustrating the event, that has a big rainbow running through it.]
3/26/1979 – Anwar al Sadat, Menachem Begin, & Jimmy Carter sign the Israel – Egypt Peace Treaty in Washington, D.C. [Photograph of the 3 men holding hands.]
2/18/1979 Snow falls in the Sahara Desert for the first time in recorded history [Photograph of snow on sand dunes in the desert.]
11/4/1979 – Iran Hostage Crisis: 53 American hostages taken [Photograph of blindfolded hostages being paraded through the street.]
12/9/1979 – Smallpox virus is certified eradicated, the first and only disease driven to extinction [Photograph of timeline: 1959 WHO proposal to eradicate small pox through 1980 Eradication certified by WHO. The last stocks of Variola (the smallpox virus) to be destroyed. ????]
Events listed in display pictured above.
1969
7/20/1969 – Neil Armstrong, U.S. astronaut, sets foot on the moon
11/15/1969 – 250,000 anti-Vietnam War demonstrators march in Washington, D.C.
11/21/1969 – the Internet, originally called the ARPANET, was born
1970s
4/22/1970 – First Earth Day observed
9/18/1970 – Jimi Hendrix died 10/4/1970 – Janis Joplin died Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin both die of drug overdoses at the age of 27
12/2/1970 – EPA created
1971
January 1971 – Cigarette ads on radio and TV banned
January 1971 – “All in the Family” premiers on CBS
June / July 1971 – 26th Amendment ratified allowing 18 year olds the right to vote
1972
February 1972 – Watergate Hotel, the Democratic Convention Headquarters, is burglarized by 5 Republican Party operatives
February 1972 – President Richard Nixon visits China which began the normalizing of relations with China
December 1972 – Last manned flight to the moon on Apollo 17th
1973
1/22/1973 – Roe v Wade – The Supreme Court ruling that gives women the right to have an abortion
1/29/1973 – Paris Peace-Accords end direct (U.S.) involvement in the Vietnam War
1974
8/9/1974 – President Richard Nixon resigns; Vice President Gerald Ford becomes the 38th President
9/8/1974 – President Ford pardons President Nixon
1975
4/4/1975 – Microsoft founded
4/30/1975 – Saigon fell to the North Vietnamese, accepting the surrender of South Vietnam
9/18/1975 – Fugitive Patty Hurst is captured in San Francisco, CA
10/11/1974 – The TV show, “Saturday Night Live,” first airs on NBC
1976
7/4/1976 – U.S. Bicentennial, the 200th Anniversary of the American Revolution
7/6/1976 – First class of women inducted at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland
8/26/76 – First known case of the EBOLA virus hits Zaire
1977
January 23rd to 30th 1977 – “Roots,” the mini-series premiers on ABC
1/3/1977 – Apple Computer is incorporated
1/21/1977 – President Jimmy Carter pardons U.S. draft evaders
5/25/1997 – The original “Star Wars” movie was first released
1978
February 5th to 7th 1978 – The blizzard of ’78 hits New England
5/3/1978 – First Spam email sent by Digital Equipment Corporation to every ARPANET address on the west coast of the U.S.
6/25/1978 – LGBT rainbow flag first flew during the San Francisco Gay Freedom Day parade
10/8/1978 – “Susan B Anthony Coin Act of 1978” minted the dollar coin
1979
Snow falls in the Sahara Desert for the only time in recorded history
3/26/1979 – Anwar al Sadat, Menachem Begin, & Jimmy Carter sign the Israel – Egypt Peace Treaty in Washington, D.C.
11/4/1979 – Iran Hostage Crisis: 53 American hostages taken
12/9/1979 – Smallpox virus is certified eradicated, the first and only disease driven to extinction
Text of poster.
Henry Whittemore, 1898-1917
Artist: Samuel B. Baker, 1918
Donor: Class of 1886
Restored in 1993-1994
Henry Whittemore was appointed the next Principal of the Normal School. A Dartmouth graduate, he served in the Civil War, taught in the public schools, and had most recently been the Superintendent of Schools in Waltham. Whittemore was an administrator first and a teacher second. He brought knowledge of needs of public schools, administrative skills, and contacts with him.
During his presidency, the school underwent a number of changes. Wells Hall was constructed; it housed a gymnasium with showers, a room for the kindergarten, a sloyd (carpentry) practice area, additional laboratories, and a large drawing room. Tunnles were constructed between Crocker, May, and Wells Halls to carry electrical wires and drainage pipes from one building to another. There was an increased emphasis on sports and exercise. The Household Arts program was extended to three years. In an effort to accommodate the increasing popularity of this program, the Board of Education considered eliminating the Elementary program at Framingham. However, through the efforts of the Alumnae Association, the Elementary Department remained. Normal Hall burned. Two houses in the area were rented until housing was available again. An acre of land was purchased and Peirce Hall was erected. Land was purchased for Dwight Hall in 1914. A summer canning school was instituted and the federally funded Vocational Education program in Home Economics Education was established at Framingham. [Photograph of Henry Whittemore.]
Scroll down to check out each year's book:
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Alexander Brown
Call Number: E 81 .B75 2001
The Day of the Jackal by Frederick Forsyth
Call Number: PR 6056 .O699 D3
Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach; Russell Munson (Photographer)
Call Number: j Bac Curric Lib
Burr by Gore Vidal
Call Number: PS 3543 .I26 B8 1973
All the President's Men by Carl Bernstein; Bob Woodward (Based on a work by)
Call Number: E 860 .B47 1999
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor; Jerry Pinkney (Illustrator)
Call Number: j Tay Curric Lib
Roots by Alex Haley
Call Number: E 185.97 .H24 A33 1976
The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough
Call Number: PR 9619.3 .M32 T5 1977
The World According to Garp by John Irving
Call Number: PS 3559 R8 W67 1998
THe Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Call Number: PR 6051 .D3352 H5 1989
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco; William Weaver (Translator)
Call Number: PQ 4865 .C6 N613 1983
A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein (Illustrator)
Call Number: Curric Lib Swider Collection Silverstein
Schindler's List by Thomas Keneally
Call Number: PR 9619.3 .K46 S3 1993
Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary; Paul O. Zelinsky (Illustrator)
Call Number: Curric Lib Swider Collection Cleary
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera; Michael Henry Heim (Translator)
Call Number: PG 5039.21 .U6 N413 1984
Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
Call Number: PS 3563 .C337 B4 1992 c.2
The Blind Watchmaker by Richard Dawkins
Call Number: QH 366.2 .D37 1986
The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe
Call Number: PS 3573 .O526 B6 1988
A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking
Call Number: QB 981 .H377 1988
Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
Call Number: PQ 7298.15 .S638 C6613 1992
The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien
Call Number: j OBr Curric Lib
Wild Swans by Jung Chang
Call Number: DS 774 .C3718 1991
She's Come Undone by Wally Lamb
Call Number: PS 3562 .A433 S54 1997
A Different Mirror by Ronald T. Takaki
Call Number: E 184 .A1 T335 1993
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt
Call Number: F 294 .S2 B48 1994
Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts
Call Number: PS 3562 .E856 W48 1995
Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
Call Number: PR 9199.3 .A8 A79 1996
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
Call Number: GV 199.44 .E85 K725 1997
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
Call Number: PS 3561 .I496 P65 1998
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Call Number: j Chb Curric Lib
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
Call Number: PR 9199.3 .A8 B55 2000c
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Call Number: Curric Lib Swider Collection Martel
The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
Call Number: HM 1033 G53 2002
Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Call Number: PR 9387.9 .A343 P87 2003
The Cloud Atlas by Liam Callanan
Call Number: PS 3603 .A445 C35 2004
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Call Number: j Zus Curric Lib
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
Call Number: j Boy Curric Lib
Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Call Number: PR 9387.9 A34354 H36 2006
Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
Call Number: PS 3562 A316 U53 2008
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba; Bryan Mealer; Elizabeth Zunon (Illustrator)
Call Number: j 921 Kam Curric Lib
Washington by Ron Chernow
Call Number: E 312 C495 2010
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: RC 265.6 L24 S55 2011 c.2
Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
Call Number: PS 3561 I496 F55 2012
The Smartest Kids in the World by Amanda Ripley
Call Number: LB43 .R625 2013
The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Kolbert
Call Number: QE 721.2 E97 K65 2014
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Call Number: [MCNAUGHTON] Hawkins
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition Script) by J. K. Rowling; Jack Thorne; John Tiffany
Call Number: j Row Curric Lib
Far from the Tree by Andrew Solomon; Laurie Calkhoven (Adapted by)
Call Number: j 362.4 Sol Curric Lib
Transcription by Kate Atkinson
Call Number: [MCNAUGHTON] Atkinson
On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
Call Number: j Tho Curric Lib
"Big shout out and thanks to Professor Bob Alter and Assistant Professor Brian Wilson and their photography students who have provided the beautiful photos that are on display around the Library. This is a great example of a way that the Library can beneficially collaborate with departments on campus." (Quoted from THE PRIMARY SOURCE November 2019 issue. ... is a library staff newsletter)
Lani Smith, Reference Librarian (Part-time) [content, photographs, images, captions]
Hedda Monaghan, Student Success & Assessment Librarian [Twitter Feed, 50 Years of Books]
Millie Gonzalez, Emerging Technology & Digital Sciences Librarian
Marion Slack, Reference Librarian [editorial nag-in-chief; content, captions]
Rebecca Dowgiert, Reference Librarian (Part-time) [photographs; images, captions]
Debbie Percher, Reference Librarian (Part-time) [images]
Colleen Previte [images]
Jessy Hopper [images - from Library Timeline bulletin board display]
Nancy Hanley [images: Henry Wthiitmore]
Debbie Hogan [content, images - from bulletin board displays: Celebrating 50 years of Reading; 1970's Timeline]