Whittemore Library: 1) Nursing Resources: Focus on: Future Managers

Nurse Managers: Authoritative Background Resources

Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by Eleanor J. Sullivan; Phillip J. Decker
Call Number: RT 89 S85 2006
ISBN: 0131780948
Publication Date: 2004
Provides users with the necessary skills to make sound management decisions in a dynamic health care environment.
Leadership and Management in Nursing by Anita Ward Finkelman
Call Number: RT 89 F527 2006
ISBN: 0131138693
Publication Date: 2005
A comprehensive resource on leadership and management focused on nursing professionals. REQUEST from REGIS COLLEGE
Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Administrators by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens
Publication Date: 2022
"These resources are intended for learners preparing for positions in front-line health care settings. Recognizing the diverse titles for these types of roles, we intend that the title Health Care Administrator is an umbrella term that includes all types of front-line Health Care Administrators. This OER is intended to be used with the companion resources, Therapeutic Communications for Health Care Administrators Game Simulations to be released in Spring 2022."
This is a free, online, Open Educational Resource

Nursing Theorists & Theories by Nurseslabs
A theoretical guide to nursing theories from the Nurseslabs educational and nursing lifestyle site.

Confident Voices in Healthcare
Multi-author nursing education blog published by Beth Boynton, RN, MS.
meta4RN.com by Paul McNamara
Australian RN blog includes posts about clinical supervision in nursing. (See 'clinical supervision' tag.)

Top Nursing Management Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus: Framingham State University Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 24,000 current articles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search over 9,900 sources (including more than 2,000 periodicals) to locate information on psychology and related fields from 1840 to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Over 950 scholarly, scientific journals.

Selected Nursing Management Journals

Healthcare Executive
Articles, review articles and commentary on professional topics for managers of hospitals, nursing homes, clinics and healthcare offices.
International Journal of Advances in Nursing Management
An international, peer-reviewed journal devoted to nursing sciences, which aims to promote excellence in nursing and health care through the publication of clinical information and original research
Nurse Leader
Provides practical information and insights from a broad spectrum of successful management and leadership perspectives and tailors the information to the specific needs of nurses.
Nursing Administration Quarterly
Advice from leading nurse executives and well- known authors, cutting-edge management and caregiving trends, solutions to difficult administrative challenges, the best resources for real-world case management guidance at your fingertips, and strategies and tools to enhance leadership skills.
Nursing Management
Articles, commentary and review articles which examines from a managerial perspective nursing practice, operations and environments.
Nursing Research
Results of clinical, educational, administrative, and research studies in nursing by means of articles, letters, news, items, and abstracts.