Whittemore Library: American Sign Language & Deaf Studies: ASL & Deaf Studies Websites

Digitized sources from Gallaudet's "Archives and Deaf Collections"

The Buff & Blue - 1892 to 2000 - The student run newspaper at Gallaudet since 1892.
The Buff & Blue (1934-1946) - Internet Archive
Internet Archive - Deaf Rare Materials
Internet Archive - Deaf Mutes Journal - The Deaf-mutes' Journal was published weekly starting with the Nov. 5, 1874 issue and ceased publication in 1938. It was preceded by The Mexico Independent and Deaf-mutes' Journal from 1872-1874, and was succeeded by the New York Journal of the Deaf, published in White Plains, N.Y. beginning in 1938. From 1874 until around 1880 it was published in Mexico, Oswego County, New York. Beginning around 1880 until 1938 it was published in New York City.
The Gallaudet Guide, and Deaf Mutes Companion - 1860 to 1862 - Deaf Newspaper "The Gallaudet Guide, and Deaf Mutes Companion" from 1860 to 1862
National Deaf Mute Gazette - 1867 to 1868 - Monthly newspaper.
The Silent Worker - Internet Archive 1888 - 1929 - The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times.
The Deaf-Mutes' Friend - January - December 1869 - Monthly newspaper.

Websites

Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
MCDHH provides accessible communication, education, and advocacy to consumers and private and public entities so that programs, services, and opportunities throughout Massachusetts are fully accessible to persons who are deaf and hard of hearing.
National Association of the Deaf
"Established in 1880, the NAD was shaped by deaf leaders who believed in the right of the American deaf community to use sign language, to congregate on issues important to them, and to have its interests represented at the national level."
National Association of the Deaf Historical Films
Contains fifteen videos made between 1910 and 1920. "They featured speeches, poetry and stories performed by twelve master signers. The master signers were of different ages, providing a sample of three generations of ASL users at the time."
Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
A national membership organization representing the professionals who facilitate communication between people who are deaf or hard of hearing and people who hear.
World Federation of the Deaf "The World Federation of the Deaf is an international non-profit and non-governmental organisation of deaf associations from 133 countries. (T)he WFD works to ensure deaf people across the globe are equipped with the knowledge, tools and strategies to advocate for, achieve and defend their rights.."
ASL Dictionary In this online ASL dictionary, the motion of the sign is described and links to video animations of each sign are also provided.
A Basic Dictionary of ASL Terms The ASL visual dictionary with videos of ASL signs is just one of the many American Sign Language resources on Handspeak.com.