Whittemore Library: Open Educational Resources (OER): STEM

Biology OER

Textbooks

Biology 2e by Mary Ann Clark; Jung Choi; Matthew Douglas
ISBN: 1947172514

Publication Date: 2018

Designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Concepts of Biology by Samantha Fowler; Rebecca Roush; James Wise
ISBN: 1938168119

Publication Date: 2013

Designed for the typical introductory biology course for non-majors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
Mt Hood Community College Biology 101 by Lisa Bartee; Christine Anderson
ISBN: 9781636350431

Publication Date: 2016

Intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of cellular biology, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including parts of a cell, metabolism, and homeostasis.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Anatomy and Physiology by James A. Wise; Mark Womble; Kelly A. Young; J. Gordon Betts; Peter DeSaix; Eddie Johnson; Jody E. Johnson; Oksana Korol; Dean H. Kruse; Brandon Poe
ISBN: 1938168135

Publication Date: 2013

For the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Human Anatomy Lab Manual by Malgosia Wilk-Blaszczak
Publication Date: 2018

Lab manual for a college-level human anatomy course. Mastery of anatomy requires a fair amount of memorization and recall skills. The activities in this manual encourage students to engage with new vocabulary in many ways, including grouping key terms, matching terms to structures, recalling definitions, and written exercises. Most of the activities in this manual utilize anatomical models, and several dissections of animal tissues and histological examinations are also included. Each unit includes both pre- and post-lab questions and six lab exercises designed for a classroom where students move from station to station. The vocabulary terms used in each unit are listed at the end of the manual and serve as a checklist for practicals.
Anatomy and Physiology 2 Lab Manual by Sheryl Shook
Publication Date: 2022

A guide for anatomy and physiology laboratory exercises. It includes dissection guidance with detailed images; instructions for physiology experiments including foundational content; and gross anatomy study guides for six body systems. Videos and tutorial links provide additional support.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Basic Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out - 4e by Gerald Bergtrom
ISBN: 9780996150248

Publication Date: 2018

Remains focused on experimental support for what we know about cell and molecular biology, and on showing students the relationship of cell structure and function. Rather than trying to be a comprehensive reference book, CMB3e selectively details investigative questions, methods and experiments that lead to our understanding of cell biology.
An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology by Andrea Bierema
ISBN: 9781626101067

Publication Date: 2020

Introduces students to the nature of science, including scientific controversies, and information literacy, including how to analyze literature and identify stakeholders. Unit 2 is organismal biology, including carbon cycling and population growth, and unit 3 is molecular biology with a focus on gene expression.
General Biology 1: Survey of Cellular Biology by Lisa Bartee; Christine Anderson
ISBN: 9781636350431

Publication Date: 2016

Intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of cellular biology, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including parts of a cell, metabolism, and homeostasis.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Online Open Genetics by Todd Nickle and Isabelle Barrette-Ng
Publication Date: 2019, updated 2022

Online text, with supplementary electronic resources.
Working with Molecular Genetics by Ross Hardison
Publication Date: 2021

Covers major topics in molecular genetics in a problems-based approach. It grew out of teaching a course for upper level undergraduates and graduate students at the Pennsylvania State University.
Introduction to Genetics by Natasha Ramroop Singh
Publication Date: 2009

In this Introductory text, the focus is on Transmission or Classical Genetics, which deals with the basic principles of heredity and the mechanisms by which traits are passed from one generation to the next.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Quantitative Ecology by Clarence Lehman; Shelby Loberg; Adam Clark
ISBN: 9781946135537

Publication Date: 2019

Introduces and discusses the principles of ecology from populations to ecosystems including human populations, disease, exotic organisms, habitat fragmentation, biodiversity and global dynamics. The book also reformulates and unifies ecological equations making them more accessible to the reader and easier to teach.
Marine Ecology Notes by Carsten F. Dormann & Arne Schroeder
Publication Date: 2021

A general introduction to Marine Ecology, accompanying a lecture and excursion. It targets students without prior knowledge of the subject.
Conservation Techniques by Marcia S. Meixler and Mark B. Bain
Publication Date: 2022

Fosters the recognition of options for making progress toward increased environmental conservation through an understanding of the underlying science and practice of a variety of conservation techniques.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

General Microbiology by Linda Bruslind (Editor)
ISBN: 9781955101172

Publication Date: 2019

In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents.
Microbiology by Nina Parker; Mark Schneegurt; Anh-Hue Thi Tu; Brian M. Forster; Philip Lister
ISBN: 1938168143

Publication Date: 2016

Covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
Microbiology by Peggy O'Sullivan
Publication Date: 2015

Intended to provide health care professionals with a working knowledge of infectious disease. Much of the book is devoted to the structure/function relationships in pathogenic microorganisms and how these relationships are expressed in host-parasite interactions. The text also examines Microbial diseases of specific organ systems as well as host response mechanisms. Lab Manual available.
Microbiomes: Health and the Environment by Dylan Parks; Stephanie Lucas (Editor); Westley Harwart (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781648160028

Publication Date: 2022

Created to provide accessible insight into the novel and complex world of polymicrobial community interactions. As we push forward into the future of medicine and environmental health, it is imperative that we learn from each other, from history, and keep up to date with the latest advances in research and technology. This book not only provides content from the latest microbiome studies, but contains interactive tools, videos, and thought-provoking questions to help the reader hone and truly understand the respective topic.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

From Growing to Biology by Gokhan Hacisalihoglu
ISBN: 9781736577912

Publication Date: 2021

The latest information for understanding of traditional and modern plant growing, form, and production. Topics covered in 30 chapters include concise and up-to-date ‘big picture’ infographics, student learning outcomes (SLOs), key vocabulary, assessment, as well as identification of 120 species, and more.
Plant Anatomy and Physiology: Images and diagrams to explain concepts by Sean Bellairs
Created to support teaching of an introductory unit on plant environmental physiology at Charles Darwin University. It makes use of various images of cells and tissues to introduce and illustrate the range of plant organelles, cells, tissues and organs.
The Science of Plants by Tom Michaels; Matt Clark; Emily Hoover; Laura Irish; Alan Smith; Emily Tepe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781946135872

Publication Date: 2022

An approachable guide to the fundamentals of plant science. Created for horticulture students, gardeners, science teachers, and anyone interested in understanding plants and how they grow.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Chemistry & Food Science OER

Textbooks

Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; WIlliam R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172623

Publication Date: 2019

Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe & Everything by Melanie M. Cooper; Michael W. Klymkowsky
ISBN: 9781626101012

Publication Date: 2019

Designed to help students attain a confident, competent, and coherent understanding of basic chemistry, in particular of the chemistry associated with organisms and their origins.

CLUE Ancillaries site.
First Year General Chemistry by Michael Mombourquette
Publication Date: N.D.

Short succinct explanation of the basics of chemistry in easy to use language and examples
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball, John W Hill, & Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097

Publication Date: 2011

For the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Introductory Organic Chemistry by Carol Higginbotham
Publication Date: 2021

Intended for use as a text in a single-term organic chemistry course as part of a one-year Introductory Chemistry course series, also known as a General, Organic and Biological Chemistry (GOB) course series. The audience for this book is likely to include students majoring in fields outside of the Sciences but who need or want some specific knowledge of the subdiscipline of Organic Chemistry. The objective is to provide students with an exposure to core ideas of the subject without deep involvement in synthesis problems or organic mechanisms.
Organic Chemistry I by Xin Liu
ISBN: 9781989864524

Publication Date: 2021

Suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Biochemistry: Free For All by Kevin Ahern, Indira Rajagopal, & Taralyn Tan
Publication Date: 2018

Biochemistry is a relatively young science, but its rate of growth has been truly impressive. The rapid pace of discoveries, which shows no sign of slowing, is reflected in the steady increase in the size of biochemistry textbooks.
Chemical Biology & Biochemistry Laboratory Using Genetic Code Expansion Manual by Ryan Mehl; Kari van Zee; and Kelsey Kean
Publication Date: 2019

"Proteins play vital roles in most biological processes; these roles include acting as catalysts for physiological reactions, as regulators for those reactions, or as structural framework around which these processes can occur. Proteins’ complex organization of diverse functionality in 3D space leads to an astonishing range of function for living organisms. Understanding this intimate relationship between structure and function is the backbone of understanding the natural world and is the key to controlling it."

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Food Product Development Lab Manual by Ken Prusa and Kate Gilbert
Publication Date: 2021

A practical how-to illustrating the process of developing a new food product from ideation and formulation to processing and lastly commercialization. This book highlights the overall process and gives instructions for each of the steps along the way.

Scholarly Books (Monographs)

Microbiology of Fermented Foods and Beverages by Theodoros Varzakas
ISBN: 9783036518480

Publication Date: 2021

A PDF reprint of the Special Issue 'Microbiology of Fermented Foods and Beverages' that was published in the journal Foods.
Soybean - Bio-Active Compounds by Hany El-Shemy, editor
ISBN: 9789535109778

Publication Date: 2013

Covers the bio-active compounds and benefits of soybeans.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Computer Science OER

Theory/Foundations

Computer Science I - Version 1.3.7 by Chris Bourke
Publication Date: 2018

Covers the traditional introductory Computer Science I topics but takes a unique approach. Topics are covered in a language-agnostic manner in the first part with supplemental parts that cover the same concepts in a specific language. The current version covers C, Java, and PHP.
Database Design 2nd Edition by Adrienne Watt and Nelson Eng
Publication Date: 2014

Covers database systems and database design concepts. New to this edition are SQL info, additional examples, key terms, and review exercises at the end of each chapter.
Delftse Foundations of Computation 2nd Edition by Stefan Hugtenburg & Neil Yorke-Smith
ISBN: 9789463665988

Publication Date: 2022

Textbook for a one quarter introductory course in theoretical computer science. It includes topics from propositional and predicate logic, proof techniques, set theory and the theory of computation, along with practical applications to computer science. It has no prerequisites other than a general familiarity with computer programming.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Energy and Human Ambitions on a Finite Planet by Thomas Murphy
ISBN: 9780578867175

Publication Date: 2021

Humanity faces a broad sweep of foundational problems as we inevitably transition away from fossil fuels and confront planetary limits in a host of unprecedented ways—a shift whose scale and probable rapidity offers little historical guidance.
The Ecosphere and Environmental Issues by Sarah Sojka
Designed for introductory environmental studies and science students. The goal is to teach essential ecological concepts by linking them to key environmental issues. The hope is that students can easily understand how firm grounding in these concepts can help them appreciate and hopefully address the biggest environmental threats of our time.
Environmental ScienceBites by Edited by Kylienne A. Clark, Travis R. Shaul, Brian H. Lower, Kylienne A. Clark, Travis R. Shaul, and Brian H. Lower
ISBN: Edited by Kylienne A. Clark, Travis R. Shaul, and Brian H. Lower and Edited by Kylienne A. Clark, Travis R. Shaul, and Brian H. Lower

Written by undergraduate students at The Ohio State University (OSU) who were enrolled in the class Introduction to Environmental Science. The chapters describe some of Earth's major environmental challenges and discuss ways that humans are using cutting-edge science and engineering to provide sustainable solutions to these problems.

Scholarly Books (Monographs)

Negotiating Climate Change in Crisis by Steffen Böhm & SIan Sullivan
ISBN: 9781800642621

Publication Date: 2021

This edited volume, comprising leading and emerging scholars and climate activists from around the world, takes a critical look at what has gone wrong and what is to be done to create more decisive action.
Composed of twenty-eight essays—a combination of new and republished texts—the anthology is organised around seven main themes: paradigms; what counts?; extraction; dispatches from a climate change frontline country; governance; finance; and action(s).

Online Resources

Our World in Data by Univerity of Oxford
Collection of data, visualisations and articles covering the world's largest problems from the University of Oxford. Topics covered include demographic change, health, food & agriculture, energy & environment, innovation & technological change, and poverty & economic development.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Physics 132: What is an Electron? What is Light? by Brokk Toggerson and Emily Hansen, Editors
ISBN: 9781945764073

Publication Date: 2020

A second semester introductory physics course for life sciences students that looks to deepen students' understanding of biology and chemistry through physics all through the lens of understanding two of the most fundamental particles in the Universe: electrons and photons.

Environment, Society & Sustainability OER

Textbooks

Astronomy 2e by Andrew Fraknoi; David Morrison; Sidney Wolff
ISBN: 9781711470573

Publication Date: 2022

Written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. The book can be used for either a one-semester or two-semester introductory course.
An Introduction to Geology by Chris Johnson, Matthew D. Affolter, Paul Inkenbrandt, & Cam Mosher
Publication Date: 2017

Textbook designed for college level introductory geology courses. Chapters include embedded videos and quizzes.
Introduction to Ocean Sciences*, 4th Edition by Douglas A. Segar
ISBN: 9780985785918

Publication Date: 2018

An open source textbook that is free for anyone to download, read and print for personal use only. Currently the textbook is available only as a pdf file that can be read and printed using any Adobe or other pdf software viewer. The online version of the textbook is a fully peer reviewed publication that has been adopted for classes in over 100 colleges located in 16 countries and 26 US States.
* Technically, not OER due to its open license not allowing derivations, but such an excellent text, made free through the largess of its author, that we include it here.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Human Geography by Christine Rosenfeld and Nathan Burtch
Publication Date: 2021

How humans interact with the environment and how human systems are geographically distributed over space.
Introduction to World Regional Geography by R. Adam Dastrup, MA, GISP
Publication Date: 2020
Physical Geography by Jeremy Patrich
Publication Date: 2020

Downloadable PDF textbook. Designed especially for Community College students, as a resource to instill the knowledge and adventure that the discipline of geography holds for so many of us. The following units will cover a wide array of topics such as: Earth’s grid system, rivers, oceans, deserts, basic geology, and cartography.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 1 by Edited by Gloria Snively and Wanosts'a7 Lorna Williams
Publication Date: 2016

Attempts to capture the creative vision of Indigenous scientific knowledge and technology that is derived from an ecology of a home place. The traditional wisdom component of Indigenous Science—the values and ways of decision-making—assists humans in their relationship with each other, the land and water, and all of creation. Indigenous perspectives have the potential to give insight and guidance to the kind of environmental ethics and deep understanding that we must gain as we attempt to solve the increasingly complex problems of the 21st century.
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 2 by Edited by Gloria Snively and Wanosts'a7 Lorna Williams
Publication Date: 2018

Provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America.
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation by Tom Theis & Jonathan Tomkin
Publication Date: 2015

Designed to introduce the reader to the essential concepts of sustainability. This subject is of vital importance seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet but is only peripherally served by existing college textbooks. The content is intended to be useful for both a broad-based introductory class on sustainability and as a useful supplement to specialist courses which wish to review the sustainability dimensions of their areas of study.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

ASEE recommended: Statics and Dynamics

Variational Principles in Classical Mechanics by Douglas Cline
ISBN: 9780998837260

Publication Date: 2018

Introduces variational principles and their application to classical mechanics

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Mathematics OER

Textbooks

College Algebra Textbook by Ben Atchison
Publication Date: 2019

College Algebra Textbook containing chapters about Linears, Systems, Quadratics, and Functions.
FSU Faculty-Made!
Precalculus by David H. Collingwood, K. David Prince, & Matthew M. Conroy
Publication Date: 2016

PDF textbook.The book emphasizes multi-part story problems in a conscious attempt to engage students at a deeper level in order to prepare them for the calculus, science, and engineering courses they will soon be taking. There are 20 problem sets, one set at the end of each chapter. The web site also has twenty years of exams (midterms and finals) and their solutions.
American Institute of Mathematics-approved
Calculus Volume 1 by Gilbert Strang; Edwin "Jed" Herman
ISBN: 9781938168024

Publication Date: 2016

Designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration. American Institute of Mathematics-approved

Calculus Vol 2: Covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.
Calculus Vol 3: Covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.
Trigonometry by Katherine Yoshiwara
Publication Date: 2022

PreTeXt online book. Covers the content of a standard trigonometry course, beginning with a review of facts from geometry.
American Institute of Mathematics-approved.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

OpenIntro Statistics, 4e by David M. Diez, Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel, & Christopher D. Barr
Publication Date: 2019

A dynamic take on the traditional curriculum, being successfully used at Community Colleges to the Ivy League.
American Institute of Mathematics-approved
Collaborative Statistics by Barbara Illowsky; Susan Dean
ISBN: 9780978745073

Publication Date: 2008

Intended for introductory statistics courses being taken by students at two– and four–year colleges who are majoring in fields other than math or engineering. Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite.The book focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it. Thetext is named Collaborative Statistics because students learn best by doing. In fact, they learn best by working in small groups. The old saying “two heads are better than one” truly applies here.
Think Stats by Allen B. Downey
ISBN: 9781491907337

Publication Date: 2014

An introduction to Probability and Statistics for Python programmers.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Approved Textbooks by American Institute of Mathematics
AIM's list of approved open math textbooks.
Open Textbook Library: Mathematics
LibreTexts: Mathematics
Includes open textbooks and open learning objects.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

LibreTexts: Mathematics Learning Objects
Content items, practice items, and assessment items, that are a combination of self-contained, digital or non-digital resources.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Nursing OER

Textbooks

Introduction to Communication in Nursing by Edited by Jennifer Lapum; Oona St-Amant; Michelle Hughes; and Joy Garmaise-Yee
Publication Date: 2020

Addresses communication theory, therapeutic communication and interviewing, and inter-professional communication as it relates to nursing.
Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice by Jamie Murphy
ISBN: 9781641760904

Publication Date: 2020

Topics covered in this text include professional nursing practice, baccalaureate education, healthcare in the 21st century, autonomy and accountability, nursing philosophy, professional development, communication, inter-professional collaboration, critical thinking, introduction to evidence-based practice, and nursing leadership and theory.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Care in Healthcare: Reflections on Theory and Practice by Krause, Franziska (editor); Boldt, Joachim (editor)
ISBN: 9783319612911

Publication Date: 2017

Offers a coherent approach to the notion of care that combines theory and practice and reveals their inter-relatedness. Provides a framework of care to be of interest to scholars and students of philosophy, ethics, social sciences and health care. Includes case studies for healthcare provisions of high societal relevance, such as diabetes and dementia

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Centring Human Connections in the Education of Health Professionals by Sherri Melrose; Caroline Park; Beth Perry
ISBN: 9781771992855

Publication Date: 2021

Equips educators working in clinical, classroom, and online settings with a variety of teaching strategies that facilitate essential human connections. Included is an overview of the educational theory that grounds the authors’ thinking, enabling the educators who employ the strategies included in the book to assess their fit within curriculum requirements and personal teaching philosophies and understand how and why they work.
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions by Melrose, Sherri; Park, Caroline; Perry, Beth
Publication Date: 2015

A must-read for nurses and other health professionals who strive to teach with creativity and excellence in clinical settings. Each chapter presents current evidence informed educational practice knowledge.
Teaching and Learning in Nursing by Dominika Vrbnjak; Gregor Stiglic; Majda Pajnkihar
ISBN: 9789535131533

Publication Date: 2017

It is with cognisance of providing quality care for patients that the role of the nurse educator has to be to enhance nursing students' learning using scientific evidence based teaching. Research around teaching and learning processes is an important part of the delivery of quality education, which in turn impacts on students' learning results and experiences, thereby, ensuring holistic biopsychosocial care to patients.
Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice by Susan M. Strouse PhD, RN; Genevieve B. Elrod PhD, RN, OCN; Karyn Butler PhD, RN, FPMHNP-BC, CNM; Chibwe Caroline Powell BSN, RN;Afokoghene Odhu BSN, RN
Publication Date: 2018

A resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom. It is meant to supplement any nursing research text. Designed to provide educators with creative teaching ideas, this text includes a variety of lessons on nursing research topics. Topics include bias, measurement, sampling, theory and more. Lessons provide active learning for in-class, hybrid, and online formats. Each lesson includes objectives, overview, and detailed steps. As an open access resource, the text is continuously in-process. Designed to be independent of any published text, the book compliments any nursing research and evidence-based course. This text is also a suitable resource for introductory research in other disciplines.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Critical Thinking in Academic Research by Cindy Gruwell and Robin Ewing
Publication Date: 2022

Introduces students to the techniques and principles of critical thinking. Provides guidance on developing research questions and finding resources to answer the questions.
Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students by Linda Frederiksen, Sue F. Phelps
Designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. From developing a research question to locating and evaluating sources to writing a sample literature review using appropriate publication guidelines, readers will be guided through the process.
The Scholarship of Writing in Nursing Education by Lapum et al.
Publication Date: 2019

Intended to guide best practices in the journey of scholarly writing in the context of the nursing profession. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs and may also be useful for students in other health-related post-secondary programs, graduate students, and healthcare providers. The project is supported and funded by the Ryerson University Library OER Grant.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Scholarly Books (Monographs)

Organising Care Around Patients by Naomi Chambers; Jeremy Taylor
ISBN: 9781526147455

Publication Date: 2021

Healthcare aims to be patient-centred but a large gap remains between the fine words and the reality. Care often feels designed for the convenience of the organisations that deliver it, and not enough around patients and their families, or even around the frontline staff who provide it. Why does this happen? What does it feel like? What can be done about it? This book stimulates reflection on these questions by listening closely to those at the frontline. It provides accounts from patients, carers and healthcare professionals who are patients about what it’s like when services get it right, and wrong, from birth up to the end of life.
Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing by Joan Wagner
Publication Date: 2022

Designed for a single-semester introduction to the professional nurse’s leadership role as both a care provider and a formal leader. An assortment of authors with diverse nursing leadership roles have contributed to this textbook. These diverse voices are focused on providing student nurses with the foundational tools, techniques, and knowledge required to empower them to meet the leadership challenges found within the incessantly changing health care environment.
The Fundamentals of Healthcare Administration by Dorothy Howell (Editor); Whitney Hamilton; Melissa Jordan
ISBN: 9781940771885

Publication Date: 2021

Written for those interested in acquiring a thorough knowledge base relative to the intricacies of the organizational theories, customs, and insights significant to the management of health service organizations. It examines the foundational aspects of leadership and management as they relate to establishing and maintaining the principles and practices within healthcare organizations.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Scholarly Books (Monographs)

2SLGBTQ+ Healthcare: Your guide to building an inclusive practice by Selinda Berg; Scott Cowan; and Ashlyne O'Neil
Publication Date: 2022

"The content presented here was created by and in collaboration with members of the 2SLGBTQ+ community. The faculty lead and all collaborators have shared their experiences as members of this diverse community, building a starting point for medical students to consider how they can build an inclusive practice."
Aging Well: Solutions to the Most Pressing Global Challenges of Aging by Galiana, Jean; Haseltine, William A.
Outlines the challenges of supporting the health and well-being of older adults around the world and offers examples of solutions designed by stakeholders, healthcare providers, and public, private and nonprofit organizations in the United States.
Curing Medicare by Andy Lazris
ISBN: 9781501703867

Publication Date: 2016

"Curing Medicare demonstrates which medical interventions (medicines, tests, procedures) work and which can be harmful in many common conditions in the elderly; the harms and benefits of hospitalization; the current culture of long-term care; and how Medicare often promotes care that is ineffective, expensive, and contrary to what many elderly patients and their families really want."
Phantom Billing, Fake Prescriptions, and the High Cost of Medicine by Terry L. Leap
ISBN: 0801461286

Publication Date: 2011

"After assessing the effectiveness of the federal laws designed to fight health care fraud and abuse—the antikickback statute, the Stark Law, the False Claims Act, HIPAA, and the food and drug laws—Leap suggests a number of ways that health care providers, consumers, insurers, and federal and state officials can bring health care fraud and abuse under control, thereby reducing the overall cost of medical care in America."
The New Common: How the COVID-19 Pandemic is Transforming Society by Aarts, Emile (editor) Fleuren, Hein (editor) Sitskoorn, Margriet (editor) Wilthagen, Ton (editor)
ISBN: 9783030653552

Publication Date: 2021

This open access book presents the scientific views of some fifty experts on how they believe the COVID-19 pandemic is currently affecting society, and how it will continue to do so in the years to come.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Healthcare in the United States by Deanna Howe; Andrea Dozier; Sheree Dickenson
ISBN: 9781940771915

Publication Date: 2021

The healthcare system has advanced tremendously since the very beginning of our formalized system. The most significant growth has been in technology use to support, diagnose, increase patient safety, and document patient outcomes.However, more can be done to ensure a system that meets all our citizens’ healthcare needs.Readers of this text will learn a brief history of our healthcare system and explore the current state of health in the U.S.
Overview of Healthcare Compliance by Larecia Gill
ISBN: 9781940771854

Publication Date: 2021

Title says it all.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Nutrition & Health Studies OER

Textbooks

Human Nutrition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla (Adapted by, Edited and Translated by, Editor); Alan Titchenal (Editor, Edited and Translated by, Adapted by)
ISBN: 9781948027083

Publication Date: 2020

Serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students, and covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Nutrition 100: Nutritional Applications for a Healthy Lifestyle by Lynn Klees
A primary goal of the text is to provide information backed by nutritional science, and a variety of resources that use scientific evidence to optimize health and prevent disease.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application Subtitle: v. 2.0 by Alice Callahan, PhD; Heather Leonard, MEd, RDN; and Tamberly Powell, MS, RDN
Publication Date: 2022

Designed for introductory nutrition courses. Topics covered include basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, body weight and health, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Contemporry Health Issues by Nancy Guthrie
Publication Date: 2018

Online textbook from Lumen Learning.
Health and Fitness for Life by Dawn Markell and Diane Peterson
Publication Date: 2019

Explores components of a healthy lifestyle and methods for incorporating these components into daily life. Fitness assessment, exercise program development, nutrition, weight management, goal setting, and stress management are discussed.
Health Education by College of the Canyons
Publication Date: 2018

Readers will learn about the nature of health, health education, health promotion and related concepts. This will help to understand the social, psychological and physical components of health.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!

Textbooks

Foundations of Epidemiology by Marit Bovbjerg
ISBN: 9781955101295

Publication Date: 2020

Introductory epidemiology textbook for public or allied health students. It covers epidemiologic thinking, causality, incidence and prevalence, public health surveillance, study design, measures of association, random error and bias, confounding and effect modification, and screening.

Scholarly Books (Monographs)

Public Health - Emerging and Re-emerging Issues by Sayeeda Rahman Russell, Kabir Md. Anwarul, & Azim Majumder
Publication Date: 2018

Throughout the course of this book, a number of emerging and re-emerging public health issues from different countries are discussed and attempts are made to illustrate a balanced and evidence-based approach towards tackling major public health problems.

Hand pointing right Want MORE? See our Finding OER page for search tips!