Scholars most often communicate about their work as well as collectively record their discipline's progress of knowledge creation by publishing articles in academic or scholarly journals. Sometimes they publish opinions, letters, and brief synopses of current work being done in their field, but they most often publish the results they have obtained from their research. Many of these research articles are 'peer-reviewed', which means the articles are checked and critiqued (as a form of 'quality control') by several of a researcher's peers prior to being officially published.
- RamSearch is a 'Discovery Layer'. It allows you to search multiple Whittemore Library databases at once, delivering up results in every format (books, periodicals, videos, audio, etc.). After your initial search, you can limit your search results to a particular information format (e.g., books versus articles), by date, to peer-reviewed articles, and in several other useful ways.The results listings will provide either a link to full-text content, or to an inter-library loan request form. Useful for inter-disciplinary topics where relevant results will come from multiple disciplines' databases.
- Our Databases that Contain Scholarly Articles
- Most of our databases allow you to limit your search results to scholarly (or 'academic') articles on your topic, usually as a choice to one side, after you have run the initial search, and / or an option to limit your results to peer-reviewed scholarly articles.
- The databases below leadership/management-specific, and may have additional ways to limit and target your search that are relevant to you.
- ABI Inform
- Business Source Ultimate
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- ERIC
- Gale Business Insights
- Gale Onefile - Business
- Gale Onefile - Communications and Mass Media
- Gale Onefile - Leadership and Management
- Gale Onefile - Psychology
- PsycARTICLES
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- PsycINFO
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- The page listing our journal collection
- Google Scholar is a specialized search that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles. When full text is available online, there will be a link to it, on the right side of each result. When you can't get full text online, try requesting a copy via our free inter-library loan service!
