Whittemore Library: Health Law Resources: Basic Info. (Facts, Books)

Finding Basic, Background Info. (Facts, Books)...

Search using your keyword in the Minuteman Library Catalog
- Searches more than 40 Metro West libraries
- Search by keyword, title, author, even using Library of Congress subject headings:
  - Medical laws and legislation
  - Medical care -- law and legislation -- United States .
- To see books available only at FSU, limit your results to Framingham State University
  - To access print books, note the call number, then locate the book in the shelves on the Lower Mezzanine or Ground level
  - Check them out at the Circulation Desk
- You can also limit to book type (print, digital, audio, etc.)
- Request books not held physically by FSU by creating a Minuteman account, then using your library card number
  - That number is found as a barcode sticker on the back of your student ID
  - If you do not have that barcode, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information
  - You can request that print books held by other Minuteman libraries be sent here to FSU
  - You will be notified when the book has arrived so that you can pick it up
- Minuteman Digital (Overdrive) books and audiobooks can also be borrowed (downloaded) using your library card number
  - You will need to install/use an app on your portable device to use these

Run your keyword search in RamSearch
- RamSearch defaults to full-text items (i.e., ebooks or online book chapters)
- To see more sources, unclick the 'Available @ FSU' box in the limits area, top left
- To access ebooks or online book chapters, follow the link through to the online full text
Note: Ram Search does not search all the Minuteman libraries; shows just books owned by FSU
- To find books in the entire Minuteman library system, or for print books, search our catalog

Search the Credo Reference database

Authoritative essays from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and more
Find relevant articles using the main search box
Find Topic Pages for a quick overview
Browse the collection
- By topic area
- By alphabetical title
General topics often include a Mindmap
- Good for brainstorming paper topics, especially for narrowing too-broad topics
- The Mindmap contains follow-able links
Offers citation support (will generate the reference for your References / Works Cited page)
- Look on the upper right on essays/articles for the quote icon

The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library
- Located in the back left next to the Reference Desk and the two printer stations
Contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more
Locate Reference titles using our catalog (must limit by location to FSU only)
- A Reference book's call number will have Ref added to it
Reference books do not circulate; must stay in the library
A Photocopier is available next to the printers outside the Reference Room
The Reference Room is also the Silent Study Room - no noise allowed

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, books that are NOT available at FSU or available from the Minuteman Library Network
The library site has a link to a blank ILL Request Form
- To use the blank ILL form, you need a library card number
- If you do not have one, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information
Note that physical books are shipped from other libraries via U.S. Mail; please allow time for items to arrive
Sometimes books borrowed via ILL can be renewed, but sometimes they can't - please plan and make use of them accordingly

Selected Reference Books & Other Info Sources:

Dictionary of Legal Terms by Steven H. Gifis
ISBN: 1438005121
Publication Date: 2015
Includes over 2,500 terms in clear, easy-to-understand English, trnslating “legalese” for the layperson.
Dictionary of Law by Bloomsbury Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781408102114
Publication Date: 2007
Provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Merriam-Webster Inc.
ISBN: 0877797358
Publication Date: 2016
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations.

AHA Guide 2014 (American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field)
Call Number: Ref RA 977 A44 2014 2014
ISBN: 0872589196
Publication Date: 2014
Lists & provides information about 6,500+ hospitals, 400+ health care systems, networks and alliances, 700+ government agencies, and 3000+ accredited providers.
Health Law Sites by Topic
A list of websites related to health law, organized by topic. Hosted by George Washington University and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Login required.

Dying and Death in Law and Medicine by Arthur S. Berger
Call Number: KF 3823 .B47 1993
ISBN: 0275939286
Publication Date: 1992
The first work to bring together case and statutory law applicable to dying patients, the right to die, advance directives, brain death, and organ transplantation, thus formulating a law of dying and death.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Warren T. Reich (Editor)
Call Number: QH 332 .E52 1995 Ref
ISBN: 0028973550
Publication Date: 1995
Provides balanced, informative articles on the moral and ethical dimensions of modern medicine, science and technology
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Brigham Narins
ISBN: 9780028666716
Publication Date: 2019
An authoritative source on public health issues.
The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics by Arthur L. Caplan; Autumn Fiester; Vardit Ravitsky
ISBN: 0826115225
Publication Date: 2009
Navigates uncharted ethical terrains, undoubtedly shaping both academic and public discourses on the challenging controversies generated by new technologies, theories, and medical advances.
The Solomon Center for Health Law & Policy by Yale Law School
Focuses on the intersection of law and the governance, practice, and business of health care. The Center brings together leading experts and practitioners from the public and private sectors to address cutting-edge questions of health law and policy, and to train the next generation of top health lawyers, industry leaders, policymakers, and academics.
World Health Organization (WHO) by United Nations
Specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health.

ABA Health Law Section
The voice of the national health law bar within the ABA. Its 8,500 strong members from across the United States represent clients in all segments of the health care industry, including physicians, hospitals and other institutional providers, teaching and research organizations, managed care organizations and other third-party payors, pharmaceutical companies and device manufacturers.
Health Policy and Politics by Jeri A. Milstead
Call Number: RT 86.5 M54 2008
ISBN: 9780763751272
Publication Date: 2007
Detailed information on health policy and politics as they relate to the field of nursing and, more specifically, to the advanced practice nurse.
Legal Research by Editors of Nolo
Call Number: Ref KF 240 L417 2015
ISBN: 9781413328882
Publication Date: 2015
Annual guide to legal research.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by Morris L. Cohen; Kent Olson
Call Number: Ref KF 240 C54 2010
ISBN: 0314264086
Publication Date: 2010
Covers major Internet resources as well as online databases and library materials, with almost a hundred illustrations of print and online sources.
Problems in Health Care Law by Robert D. Miller; Rebecca C. Hutton
Call Number: KF 3825 M53 2000
ISBN: 0834216027
Publication Date: 1999
Covers managed care, compliance, and criminal law, as well as the legal implications of emerging areas of medicine, such as the human genome project, genetic therapy, and cloning.
Risk Management in Health Care Institutions by Florence Kavaler; Allen D. Spiegel
ISBN: 0763702579
Publication Date: 1997-03-04
Offers governing boards, CEOs, administrators, and health profession students the opportunity to organize and devise a successful risk management program...features real case studies and practical guidelines for risk managers.

Laws Enforced by the FDA (gov't website) by FDA
Regulatory information from the Food and Drug Administration.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides credible health-related information on data and statistics, diseases and conditions, environmental health, injury, violence and safety, life stages and populations, workplace safety and health, and more.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The National Institutes of Health is part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, focusing on health-related research.

American International Health Alliance
International nonprofit organization working to advance global health through locally driven, locally owned, and locally sustainable health systems strengthening (HSS) and human resources for health (HRH) interventions.
American Public Health Association
Public Health advocacy organization, the only such group influencing U.S. public health policy.
Center for Health Law & Policy Innovation (CHLPI)
The CHLIP's mission is to improve the health of vulnerable populations by focusing on systems-level change.
The Global Health Justice Partnership (GHLP)
This partnership between Yale Law School & The Yale School of Public Health promotes interdisciplinary, innovative, and effective responses to global health disparities.
National Health Law Program
Fights to expand access to quality health care to low-income individuals and under-served communities.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Provides policy analysis as well as health-related news and information. Sign up for daily emails, a RSS feed, or follow them on Twitter.

Selected Scholarly Books (Monographs)

Genetic Transparency? Ethical and Social Implications of Next Generation Human Genomics and Genetic Medicine by Malte Dreyer (Editor); Jeanette Erdmann (Editor); Christoph Rehmann-Sutter (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004311893
Publication Date: 2016
Tackles the question of who has, or should have access to personal genomic information.
Medicine, Money, and Morals by Marc A. Rodwin
ISBN: 9780195096477
Publication Date: 1995
Explores how financial conflicts of interest can and do negatively affect the quality of patient care.
Pilgrims in Medicine: Conscience, Legalism and Human Rights by Thomas Faunce
ISBN: 9789004139626
Publication Date: 2004
Develops a normative synthesis of medical humanities, virtue ethics, medical ethics, health law and human rights.
Practical Decision-Making in Health Care Ethics by Raymond Devettere
ISBN: 0878405895
Publication Date: 1995
Presents something of an alternative to the way textbooks in health care ethics approach the subject, proposing not an ethics of obligation and duty determined by principles and rules, but an ethics of personal well-being and fulfillment.

Ethics and Security Aspects of Infectious Disease Control by Christian Enemark (Editor); Michael J. Selgelid
ISBN: 9781409422532
Publication Date: 2012
Research on ethical issues associated with infectious disease is a relatively new and rapidly growing area of academic inquiry, as is research on infectious diseases within the field of security studies. This volume incorporates ethical and security perspectives, thus furthering research in both fields.
Policing Pregnancy by Sheena Meredith
ISBN: 9780754644125
Publication Date: 2005
Offers a comprehensive assessment of healthcare law as applied to the unique situation of pregnancy. Drawing on case material from both the UK and the USA, it describes the trend towards 'policing pregnancy' and explores the emergence of the concept of'maternal-foetal conflict'- and why, in the author's view, this would be more appropriately labelled 'obstetric conflict'.
Rights and Liberties in the Biotech Age by Sheldon Krimsky (Editor); Peter Shorett (Editor)
Call Number: TP 248.23 .R55 2005
ISBN: 0742543404
Publication Date: 2005
Explores the impact of new genetic technologies on how people define their 'personhood' and their basic civil liberties.

American Health Care by Roger Feldman
Call Number: RA 395 .A3 A523 2000
ISBN: 1560004304
Publication Date: 1999
Offers "a cogent analysis of why government control of health care does not work".
The Cure in the Code by Peter W. Huber
ISBN: 9780465069811
Publication Date: 2013
Argues that government intervention in the science and practice of medicine is impeding progress.

Public Health Law by Lawrence O. Gostin; Lindsay F. Wiley; Thomas R. Frieden (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780520282650
Publication Date: 2016
Analyzes major health threats of our time such as chronic diseases, emerging infectious diseases, antimicrobial resistance, bioterrorism, natural disasters, opiod overdose, and gun violence. The authors draw on constitutional law, administrative law, local government law, and tort law to develop their conception of law as a tool for protecting the public's health.
Regulating Tobacco by Robert L. Rabin (Editor); Stephen D. Sugarman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195147568
Publication Date: 2001
Essays by eleven leading public health experts, economists, physicians, political scientists, and lawyers, whose activities encompass Congressional testimonies, Surgeon General's reports on youth smoking, and clinical trials for drugs for smoking cessation. They analyze specific strategies that have been used to influence tobacco use--including taxation, regulation of advertising and promotion, regulation of indoor smoking, control of youth access to cigarettes and other tobacco products, litigation, and subsidies of smoking cessation--and set them against the latest scientific findings about tobacco use and the changing cultural and political setting against which policy decisions are being made.
Vaccine by Mark A. Largent
ISBN: 9781421406077
Publication Date: 2012
A thoughtful evaluation of the vaccine debate, its history, and its consequences.

Accountability by Virginia A. Sharpe (Editor)
Call Number: R 729.8 .A25 2004
ISBN: 9781589010239
Publication Date: 2004
Bringing together authoritative voices of family members, health care providers, and scholars―from such disciplines as medical history, economics, health policy, law, philosophy, and theology―this book examines how conventional structures of accountability in law and medical structure (structures paradoxically at odds with justice and safety) should be replaced by more ethically informed federal, state, and institutional policies.
Liability by Robert E. Litan (Editor); Clifford Winston (Editor)
Call Number: KF 1250 .L53 1988
ISBN: 0815752717
Publication Date: 1988
Describes the major changes that have contributed to the insurance crunch and set forth a methodological framework for evaluating the debate over the current liability system.

Cultural Fault Lines in Healthcare by Michael C. Brannigan
Call Number: RA 418.5 T73 B73 2012
ISBN: 9780739149669
Publication Date: 2011
Offers a critical reflection on cultural competence and awareness in health care, an arena where world views and values often collide.
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare by Sally N. Ellis Fletcher
ISBN: 9781937554958
Publication Date: 2015
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare challenges readers to examine cultural issues beyond just theory and to instead explore culture as it affects your professional role thus creating culturally sensibility health care encounters.