Whittemore Library: Checking on the Reliability of Online Information: Bias v. Fake Sources

How to Choose Your News (Ted Ed)

How can you detect news source bias?

Examining the Alternative Media Ecosystem through the Production of Alternative Narratives of Mass Shooting Events on Twitter (Kate Starbird, U of Wash)
How To Detect Bias In News Media (Fair.org)
News: Balance Bias with Critical Questions (Center for Media Literacy)
Political Polarization & Media Habits (Pew Research)
Study: Breitbart-led Right-wing Media Ecosystem Altered Broader Media Agenda (Columbia Journalism Review)

Databases with Divergent Viewpoints

These FSU subscription databases provide more reliable news sources, and present divergent opinions on current as well as historical events.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses, providing an unmatched, multidisciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives. Coverage: 1970 - current
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher reports cover an array of topics including public policy, law and civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more. Includes pro/con debate.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Global Issues is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints for users with access to both resources.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window This middle school database provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

Books and Ebooks

Partisan Journalism by Jim A. Kuypers; Larry Schweikart
Call Number: PN 4888 O25 K84 2014
ISBN: 9781442225930
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Junk News by Tom Fenton
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781555918026
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The fox effect : how Roger Ailes turned a network into a propaganda machine by David Brock, Ari Rabin-Havt, and Media Matters for America.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780307947680
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Mass Media Ethics by Clifford G. Christians (Editor); Lee Wilkins (Editor)
Call Number: P 94 H355 2009
ISBN: 9780805861914
Publication Date: 2008-07-21