Skip to Main Content
Framingham State University
Website Tour
Henry Whittemore Library
Today's Hours:
Toggle navigation
Menu
About
About the Library
Directions
Library Departments
Staff Directory
About our collections
Curriculum Library
FSU Digital Repository
Archives & Special Collections
Services for...
Whittemore Library
Whittemore Library
Research Guides
Research Skills Hub
Find
Search this Guide
Search
Research Skills Hub
Click on a section, choose a topic. On computers, page opens on the right. On mobile, scroll past menu to read.
Understand
Toggle Dropdown
Who are Our 'Experts'?
The Information Timeline
Peer Review
The Internet vs. Academic Databases
What kind of Info is in Databases?
What's in OUR Library's Collection?
This link opens in a new window
Data vs Information
Popular vs. Scholarly
Grey Literature
Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Sources
Plan
Toggle Dropdown
What KIND of Info do You Need?
Find & Narrow Topics
Keywords from your Topic
Concept / Mind Mapping
Find
All the searching tips and tricks for our databases, AND the internet.
Advanced Database Features
Use Boolean Connectors
Use Phrases
Use Database Fields
Use Truncation
Use Database Limiters
Use Synonyms
Use Wildcards
Use Database Subjects
Find Better Keywords DURING Your Search
Find Primary HISTORICAL sources via date limiting
Google Advanced Search Tricks
Search Google Scholar
Reference Mining
Citation Tracking
About Call Numbers
Periodical's Content Not the Same as the Periodical's Website!
Evaluate
Toggle Dropdown
From a scholarly journal - But what IS it??
Anatomy of a Scientific Research Article
Quantitative vs Qualitative Research Articles
Theoretical vs Empirical Research Articles
Types of Review Articles
Identify the Research Study Type
Spotting Bad Science
Types of Scientific Evidence
Found it in a newspaper - What is it??
More About News Evaluation
Webste Evaluation
Is it AI?
Fear & Loathing on Social Media
Pseudoscience on Social Media -the Slippery Slope
Get Full Text
Toggle Dropdown
Getting Full Text During Library Site Searches
Find Free Full Text on the Internet
Got a Citation? Check the Library for Full Text
Make an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request
Manage & Organize
Toggle Dropdown
Better Organize What You Found
Organize with Zotero
Organize with Google Docs
Organize using personal accounts in databases
Just store stuff on your laptop?
Print / Save as PDF Website Info Without the Ads
Use (Ethically)
Toggle Dropdown
Avoid Plagiarism
Why SO MANY citation systems?
Why Citations in the Text?
Citing vs Attribution
Paraphrase Correctly
Create a Bibliography
Create an Annotated Bibliography
Our Complete Citation Guide
This link opens in a new window
All the searching tips and tricks for our databases, AND the internet.
Click a topic on the left to see the info here.
<<
Previous:
Concept / Mind Mapping
Next:
Advanced Database Features >>
